Investing Strategy after initiating a new position

Hi Valuepickr,

I am new to investing but have been reading a lot of stock stories and making my own over the last 1 year.

I usually initiate a small position when I find an interesting stock. Then I add as I understand more about the business and feel more confident about its long-term growth. At this point I have not invested a significant amount in the business but not an negligible amount either. I want to add more but the price has gone up by 20-25% in the month it took me to complete my analysis. Do I add more at the current price or wait for it to fall? And how should I do my buying - One big lot or multiple smaller lots?

There have been a few stocks I have not been able to add because it went up and then they went up more. I don’t want to make the mistake again.

Let me know how to go about it.
Thanks!

1 Like

[quote=“drd, post:1, topic:6083”]
Do I add more at the current price or wait for it to fall? And how should I do my buying - One big lot or multiple smaller lots?

There have been a few stocks I have not been able to add because it went up and then they went up more. I don’t want to make the mistake again.
[/quote]I don’t have the answer for you but I can share my understanding based on about 3 years of active investing and around 10 years of passively following the markets on and off.

You will have to figure out the answers yourself. To be successful in this line you have to have discipline. To have discipline you have to have confidence on yourself, your rules and your process. To develop confidence you have to put in effort and figure all of it out yourself (For Buying, Selling and scaling in and out of positions) suited to your mental makeup. There are no shortcuts.

Some (mostly value investors) scale in to positions on the way down and some (mostly momentum investors) do exactly the opposite. There is no right way for all but what works for you and you are the best person to figure that out.