Indiabulls power

Disclaimer: this is not a recommendation by my thoughts on the name. Kindly do your own due diligence. I might have a vested interest in whatever I say?

This is what I wrote some 2-3 months back on the name

âThis name would be generating operating cash flows (next year) of more than the market cap of the company. Currently the company is quoting at 0.8 times Market cap / operating cash flows (FY2014)â??

Current market cap of the company is 2600 crore and as per management it would be generating an operating cash of 3300 crore next year

We all know that the power sector is going through a really rough rough patch. Policy paralysis, Coal scam and what not

The IPPs have become new untouchables in the market with no one willing to even take a look at them.

As I understand that there are multiple issues ranging from coal supply agreements to power purchase agreement to execution risks etc.

The broad based brushing of the sector has led to even the reasonable projects quoting at a massive discount to their real worth.

One such company isIndiabullspower

It has four projects under development

Unit

Capacity

Date of completion

Coal Linkage

PPA

Levalized Tariff

Amravati I

1350 MW

Dec 2012

Yes

1320 MW

Rs. 3.26 unit

Amravati II

1350 MW

Far away

Yes LOA

No

NA

Nashik I

1350 MW

Feb 2013

Yes

950+300 MW

Rs. 3.42 unit

Nashik II

1350 MW

Far away

Yes LOA

No

NA

Total

5400 MW

Do take a look at project pictures

http://www.indiabulls.com/power/pdf/press_june_2012.htm

http://www.indiabulls.com/power/amravati_project_gallery.htm

http://www.indiabulls.com/power/nasik_project_gallery.htm

timing is perfect

the projects are so close to completion and market is busy with vivid coal scam news

I would be talking about the only 2700 MW out of total 5400 MW as it is nearing implementation.

There are very few private IPPs which have thiscombination of domestic coal linkage (with coalIndia) and power purchase agreements in place.

+coal scam is mostly irrelevant to it except the same may cause some operational delays in terms of coal supply.

I am sure that you know that the domestic coal is a lot cheaper and therefore entails a lot less risk of becoming unviable as more and more new capacity comes in.

In addition, the PPA tariff of Rs. 3.26 and Rs. 3.42 are very reasonable which would entail it a preferred supplier status for with SEB. Therefore if the SEB has to cut on procurement it would cut the expensive sources of power rather thanIndiabulls. + the agreement is with Maharashtra which in one of the healthy SEBs in the country.

Unlike Adani and Mundra UMPP a part of increase in the cost of fuel is pass through.

IT TICKS ALL THE BOXES ?

Risk assesment:

Risk

Example

Indiabullsstatus

Fuel supply

Like many of Adani and Lancoâs projects donât have fuel supply contracts.

Indiabullshas LoA from coalIndiaand would soon sign FSA once CoalIndiaboard finalizes the FSA

Offtake risk

Again many of Lancoâs projects donât have PPA for offtake of the produced power

Indiabullâs have offtake agreement for a majority portion of Phase I capacity. Not considering Phase II as it is far far away

Pass through risk

Some projects of Adani cannot pass the increase in the cost of coal to the buyers

As I understand a part of fuel cost is pass through

Coalgate risk

Tata, Reliance and JSPL etc have been allocated mines and therefore would suffer if the mines are deallocated

No risk as it is getting coal from CoalIndia

Execution risk

Chinese equipment has had teething problems inIndia

Using more proven BHELâs equipment yet this is the first power projectIndiabullsis executing and there might be teething problems

SEB risk

Poor health if customer i.e. SEBs results in increased receivables like in case of Nyvelli Lignite has 2K to 3K crore dues from Tamil Nadu

Most of the power would be supplied to Maharashtra which is considered relatively healthy

Costs

SEBs prefer to offtake with lower cost producers to reduce their deficits

Indiabullstariff is reasonable at Rs. 3.26 and 3.42 per unit

further the CoalIndiawould givepreferredtreatment to power projects with PPA as opposed to merchant projects

As per the management Cash flowsâ Assuming Rs 1/unit margin (difference between sales price and cost of generation), cash generation from average of 25 billion units produced in FY 13â14 would be US$ 600 million by Marchâ2014.

Go to page 21 of this presentation

http://www.indiabulls.com/pdf/Indiabulls%20Group%20Presentation_Web.pdf

Coal supply could not be as per the optimal levels

Project start up hiccups

Corporate governance and Veritas report

Here is the report

http://www.advisor.ca/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/IndiaBulls-August-01-2012.pdf

I have been through the report and I find unusual in the report. Basically the report suspects the listed companies dealings with the promoter group companies. The same is quite common amongst Indian companies be it Reliance or be it Wockhardt??

That does not mean that I rate promoters very highly. In fact one needs to apply a higher COE to such companies. All I am saying is thatIndiabullsis not going bust and it is not an obvious case of a scam.

Indiabulls's response

http://www.indiabulls.com/pdf/Announcement.pdf

One thing I learned by my reading of “Poor Charlie’s Almanac” is to** never **invest in companies with “not so nice track record”, “questionable promoter integrity”. I would rather invest in companies with consistent good promoter/management track record with lesser expected return, than to other category with higher expected return.

Besides, i rate veritas highly, because of their gut to tell, what others fear to talk openly, but hiss it into each others ear. I haven’t seen a single instance where they have pointed finger to a clean, honest company.

Trading, one can happily do with such kind of stock (with say upto 6-7 month of time horizon), provided he can time it well, as is sure of getting back all of his money (plus some profit if he can.

to**never **invest

I am not saying that the concerns are not there probably already getting reflected in price at 0.6 times book (to some extent). I can not see anything unusual in what they have done in terms of corporate governance that most of the prominent Indian companies likely tatas,Bajaj, Lupin, Reliance Wockhardt have not done. I am just weighing negatives and positives and taking a chance. we all know the negatives but some positive developments like the imminent start of production are also worth mentioning. some people might find risk reward favourable and some unfavourable it is very subjective.

I would suggeset you all to go through veritas report

Good analysis Excel Monkey and it looks like all the negatives are priced in and the low price is mainly because of ‘Hatred’ towards power stocks in general and ‘Indiabulls’ in particular. Thanks for Veritas report, I was looking for their report for long time.

BTW, do you have thier 2012 annual report, could out find on web. Even reportjunction.com do not have it.

Nice work and details.

I couldn’t find the audited FY12 results and balance sheet. Why is the same pending? What will be the debt at the time of completion of the project?

PS: However, I remain highly skeptical of this group and might look at this co only for short term

Thanks I think they haven’t published it yet.they have a 30-70 equity debt mix for their projects. Also their standalone debt as of end of sep if 1600 crores but that’s irrelevant as the projects are being executed by the subsidiaries. Regards, Excel

The stock bottomed out in dec 2011. Recovered thereafter but could not keep the moment because of the coal scam though it is no way related to allotment of mines. It has LOA with coal india. Now one should expected some news flow in next 3-6 months which could change its status from a project under execution with a lot of uncertainties to a cash generating asset. I think that’s huge Delta which is yet to be discounted.

Dear all,

The company has not send annual report to anybody, neither it is on bse site or the company site. I have gone to the Agm, it is one of the worst management ever encountered by me, pure muscle power, not allowed to ask any thing. Only solace I got the balance sheet of 2012, (I have given the b/s xerox to two top borking houses analyst, means they also could not get the balance sheet). Here the investor can earn money only if the management wants. Best to avoid, inspire of the cheap valuations.

Dear all,

The company has not send annual report to anybody, neither it is on bse site or the company site. I have gone to the Agm, it is one of the worst management ever encountered by me, pure muscle power, not allowed to ask any thing. Only solace I got the balance sheet of 2012, (I have given the b/s xerox to two top borking houses analyst, means they also could not get the balance sheet). Here the investor can earn money only if the management wants. Best to avoid, inspire of the cheap valuations.

Hi Anil,

Please do share your muscle power experience that would only help us better understand the management.

Is it possible to get the copy of the 2012 balance sheet?

Ayush balance sheet is on page 25 of the presentation and project update pictures start from page 4. http://www.indiabulls.com/power/pdf/press_sept_12.htm

Hi Excel Monkey

As per ET news dated Sept 2012 quotingGagan Banga Link: http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/topic/Gagan%20Banga , spokesperson of Indiabulls group theywill commission 270 mw at Amravati in December and another unit of 270 mw at Nasik in January, subsequently we will commission a unit of 270 mw every six months,". So I don’t think their entire capacity for Amravati I and Nasik I is getting commissioned by Feb 2013.

This is the link to the article which I mentioned

http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2012-09-20/news/33976902_1_mw-unit-indiabulls-power-mw-power-project

Emkays report on page 69

http://emkayglobal.com/downloads/researchreports/Power%20Sector%20-%20Jun’12.pdf

Ashikas report on page 20

http://www.ashikagroup.com/UploadResearch/Ashika%20Monthly%20Insight_August%202012.pdf

Added more today. Now it is 4 largest holding in my portfolio.

Indiabulls power and its holding company indiabulls infrastructure together are now 4 largest holding in my portfolio

Oops repeated the post. A few updates. Govt trying to outmaneuver momta didi’s opposition to coal pooling. Pooling necessary to take care of coal shortage. Also icici note on the company. Market is not recognizing that this is the safest utility. Coal supply and PPA both is place and this one is in no way related to coal scam. http://www.thehindubusinessline.com/industry-and-economy/proposal-to-bring-changes-in-coal-price-pooling/article4090989. ece http://content.icicidirect.com/mailimages/ICICIdirect_IndiabullsPower_ ManagementMeetUpdate.pdf