HBL Engineering: Booting-up for the Race of the Century

HBL Q3 FY26 Results

Good Results on YoY basis, QoQ was down as said by management in previous quarterly results.

₹14.81 Cr one time set of New Labour Code which drops EBITDA.

Company also approved some new JV and Investments…

a. Forming a Joint Venture with Cochin Shipyard Limited.
b. Equity Investment in Yaanendriya Private Limited, a start-up in Bengaluru.
c. Equity Investment in Xalten Systems Private Limited, a start-up in Kochi.

All 3 JV and Startups are working in Defence and Robotics. Interesting to track these opportunities for the Future Growth.

Yes, very good results. If you compare yoy, outstanding. Extra provision of 14 cr and extra expenses on other category. It is now a high tech company with entry into new domain. Watch it closely.

Latest Press Release on Kavach

https://www.pib.gov.in/PressNoteDetails.aspx?NoteId=157230&ModuleId=3&reg=3&lang=1

This is a chatgpt output right? hope you had validated some assumptions it makes!

Cochin Shipyard is mostly validated, they can achieve a lot together. Will share more details.

Rest are logical assumptions, in due course of time more clarity will emerge.

Investments in Xalten and Yaanendriya as I understand are equity investments and not JV’s. Can someone clarify the quantum of investment or the % shareholding that HBL has acquired in both. While these may be deep tech companies but picking a small stake in the business can at best be a clever strategy (hopefully) for deployment of surplus capital for HBL and may not have much strategic value in the long term.

If at all this is a chatgpt output, would have made it better if they had included in their input query on HBL’s significant stake in Tonbo Imaging. With about 1/3rd of Tonbo, HBL already has access to defence imaging and sensor technology.

So HBL’s expertise is in batteries (+ Electronic fuzes), Xalten in automation, Yaanendriya in navigational sensors and Tonbo in military grade imaging. Is this some targeted investment with some “big n beautiful” goal in mind? Or they could just be making a bouquet of investments in whatever seems interesting.

Tonbo has a good reputation. No idea about Yaanendriya and Xalten though. Xalten seems to be a new and small company. Yaanendriya newer/smaller and it doesn’t even have a working website!

What you are saying were HBL’s original plans. HBL initially acquired around 15% stake in Tonbo with a plan to increase it to 30%. They even formed a JV - HBL Tonbo Pvt Ltd - to start joint production of missile guidance systems. Thereby leveraging Tonbo’s expertise in optics and HBL’s expertise in battery & electronics. However the relationship went sour. Soon afterwards HBL filed an application to strike off the name of HBL Tonbo Pvt Ltd from MCA records. When quizzed about this in the AGM concall, Mr Prasad (Chairman) said that it is only a financial investment for them now, no plans for further increasing the stake or any joint production. Not sure what went wrong. It would have been a fantastic collaboration for the Indian defence ecosystem.

It does have a very well made website. Doesn’t seem to be working today for some reason. I had checked on the day of the announcement of quarterly results and it was good.

I do agree that these companies, except Tonbo, are in very early stages and it would be unrealistic to expect any meaningful contribution to revenues or financial returns in the next 1 or 2 years.

Another order for Kavach (ver 4) worth Rs 800.36 Crores from Banaras Locomotive Works (BLW)

From BMW, Quadrant FutureTek also got an order for 180 crores for 223 Onboard KAVACH Loco Equipment Ver- 4.0 with Warranty (which works out to be 81.42 L per Loco inc taxes) and it looks like in appprox is 80:20 for approved vs development stage vendors.

From BMW, Kernex got an order for 411.17 crores for 505 Onboard KAVACH Loc (81.42 Lakh per Loco incl Tax)

Based on this we can assume HBL order is for 982 or 983 Locos.

Then, Total order size so far 1710 or 1711 Locos.

What is the overall size of the tender from BMW? Is there possibility of other approved/development stage vendors getting order?

Total tender was for 2679 locos. Medha is an unlisted company so no way to know how much they got, I am guessing they got 24% of the tender, i.e 643 locos. Here is the breakup:

1. Kernex 505 locos (19%)
  2. HBL 987 locos (37%)
  3. Development vendors (20%)
  4. Balance left 24% for Medha.

Seems like HBL was L1, Medha L2 and Kernex L3 in this tender.

A fascinating srticle that must be read and reread to reinforce ones conviction on volatile HBL ENGg STOCK IN THESE VOLATILE TIMES

Whenever a doubt comes plz read this article detailing strong tech background of its founder and great execution he showed and trmendous journey HBL has gone thru 1977.

Investing in HBL has been a rollercoaster ride for a lot of investors. Especially in the last couple of years. And topsy turvy markets don’t help its cause.

This is a business with inherent lumpiness. The growth engines keep changing from time to time. Earlier it was industrial batteries, and they enjoyed higher margins for some time due to Russia Ukraine conflict because of shortages created in supply of Nickel Cadmium batteries.

Next was the much anticipated Kavach. Here loco Kavach has taken a front row seat recently, while Track and station Kavach has taken a back seat, though order execution should see some traction in the latter. HBL recently bagged two orders totalling around 1200-1300 crores ( adjusting for GST) for Kavach locos. This should provide visibility for next few quarters.

We need to see how the track Kavach execution takes shape and what kind of margins the company reports. Though in view of reticence of the management in sharing details, it would be difficult to figure out exact margins of this segment of business.

Next bunch of triggers could be defense batteries like torpedo batteries and the likes. Plus marine batteries where it has joint venture with Cochin shipyard. ( need more clarity on the addressable market of the latter segment).

Another much talked about trigger is the Electronic fuzes. Again there are a lot of wild guesses as to the kind of opportunity this segment offers.

The heartening thing from results till date has been clean balance sheet, steady margins in battery business, and contributions from newer growth segments.

The big negative has been lack of communication from management, and lumpiness of the business.

The lacklustre results in last quarter are as per management communication conveyed in q2 fy 26 note. However there was some reversal in stance post that note in another note. Overall FY 26 should be good, though not spectacular, and that sets the stage for lesser expectations from FY 27. With the recent correction from 1000 plus levels to around 700-800, valuations also have seen some correction.

If and when the management communicates about the prospects of the business and its segments, we can get a better idea about how things stand. (disc: invested and hence my views are biased. _

47 Likes

Would also help if they talk about their equity investments/JVs and their plans in acquisitions if any and how they align to their strategic growth plan. Right now - its more a shot in the dark.

Disc: Invested from lower levels

Dear Hitesh bhai always insightful reading your post and learning from them. How do you read companies like HBL where larger part of earning cycle is behind us and stock is largely showing weakness technically as well . Thou a lot of optionalities playing out is hope that we have ( me included ) but as u follow a techno funda apporoach with technical not supporting and earning growth visibility yoy remaining low from data we have ( as of now ) . How to think about it ?

Or such lumpy performance demands patience i could co-relate to RACL where it had a full cycle 30-40 % fall and scaling past ATH once result started to show .

Your view more from technofunda perspective.

This is the company with innovation and manufacturing complex products in their DNA. Some very exciting line of products at various stages of development - be it Fuses, EV Truck, Torpido motors, Motors for Marine application etc. But I see two key risks here:

1. key person Risk - over reliance on Mr. Prasad
  2. The key person himself - Mr. Prasad who is a fantastic technocrat, but I found him very blunt and at times downright disrespectful of Government, ministries (both defence and railways), competitors and customers. Some of the comments in recent cocncalls have been very dismissive. I understand that it could be frustrating to work with government agencies and ministries, but could you be so downright dismissive about your major customers? Did anyone else found it to be odd?

https://idrw.org/advanced-aluminum-silver-oxide-battery-technology-to-power-indias-next-generation-torpedoes/#google_vignette

HBL is meeting with SBI mutual fund. I don’t recollect any meetings with the funds in the past. AGM and sometimes an annual investor meet were the only opportunities to meet the management. Perhaps some change in stance regarding investor communication with the new gen promoter family members stepping in?