- Started in 2011
- 30 yrs of exxperiance - Ramesh Siva- MD
- Before 2011 - he was CEO one hotel group
- Started 2011 Bangalore JP Nagar - 54 room hotel , 15/16 second property
- First Bangalore → Hosur → Tirupati-> Goa → Hyderabad
- today 24/25 - 1200 + rooms (25 hotels)
- First Generation ENterprenur
- Business Model - Boutique Model hotel not a luxury 5 star hotel, we are midscale hotel, we provide quest their basic requirements. At grand content we ensure basic are well maintained and clearly organise, we expect guest should repeat back to us and we have repeat customers.
- 23 hotels today , 2 own by grand continent and balance 21 are lease properties.
- 10 yr min lease signed with owners , extendable to 5 yrs, every month we pay the landlords monthly rental and then we operate the hotel on our own.
- ENtire P&l comes to GC Hotel and owner gets rental
- Every yr rental will increase
- There will be initial capes during first phase, we give owners security deposit 6/8 month rental.
- ITC and all they don’t take on lease, they take on management contract , what is management contract , they take 5-6% on toppling of revenue as fee and then they operate the hotel with their brand.
- Why Grand Continet on lease model (all other mgmt model)? - Most land owners don’t want to operate the hotel, they give it to someone on lease/fixxed rental. They don’t interested in what u do.
- We already got 20-25 who want to do business with us- but we will not sign contract until unless the property fit in our standards.We are very choosy, we are concerned with location, demand/supply and requirement of this kind of hotels before we take the property.
- After that the most imp thing is Staff, Very strong team.
- This is our 22nd hotel opening today - we have another 4 in the pipeline, next week in Dwarka then in Jaipur , Gurgaon and Ayodhya.
- Out of 22 - 16 are corporate hotel , 4 are leisure properties , 2 are pilgrims centre
- Going forward , 75% corporate, 20 % pilgrims, and 10% will be leisure
- IPO - for growth of the company and cleared our debts
- Repayment/ prepayment, in full or in part, of certain outstanding borrowings availed by the company – INR 34.08 crore
- Expansion of its hotel properties in India – INR 16.79 crore
Chennail Hotel Launch : https://expressnews.asia/2025/06/launching-grand-continent-premiere-t-nagar-in-theheart-of-chennai/
DRHP :
- 2 properties in GOA
- Most properties rent per month 10-15 Lakh
- A majority of our properties are operating under Sarovar Brands /Royal Orchid Brands
- Most hotels properties concentrated in the city of Bengaluru
- H1 2025 2024 2023 2022
- Rent 5.23 5.61 2.48 0.37 (All in Cr.)
- Expense details given in DRHP
- FY 23, 24 and H1 Fy25 Cash flow : 7.8 cr , 7.57cr, 8.8 cr
Co.aims to expand its hotel keys from 753 in FY24 to 2000+ keys by FY26.
Q FY25 Concall :
-
New properties achieve break-even within 24 months
Concall Q4-25 : -
Ramesh Siva - CEO of Quality Inn till 2010
-
So I took around about five to six years to study it. And then the second hotel of ours was started in the year 2016. Again, after a five-year gap, we opened up with that 24-room key, then slowly in 2017 with a 34-room key, then scaled up one hotel after the other hotel.
-
21 hotels operational
-
Most of our hotels, what we do, out of the
21 properties, 19 properties are lease properties. We are an asset-light company. -
Of late, the last seven, eight hotels which we have opened from the 14th, 15th hotel, we have started doing it on our own to ensure that we are also creating a brand of Grand Continent on our own
-
2025- 8 properties , we have taken our first step on our international front - Dubai.
-
over the next three years, we have set our sights on expanding our portfolio by
adding close to 2,000 keys. -
In FY '25, the ARR was INR3,830 up from INR3,410 in FY '24.
-
Occupancy 2024 - 65%, 2025 - 61% , due to new 8 hotels in 25
-
Typically our properties take four to five months to ramp up our revenue
-
leisure business occupancy was
lower since leisure takes about a year to stabilize -
if there is around about a 50-room hotel, then we don’t have anything more than
22 to 25 employees -
planning for another 2,000 keys in the coming two years.
-
So we identify cities which are having demand for these types of hotels and that we can find an occupancy of not less than 70% yearto-date. That is how we work on.
-
today, the entry cost per room is not less than
INR18 lakhs to INR20 lakhs. for us we ensure that we are very conservative on spending money and we ensure that we don’t go ahead more than INR6 lakhs to INR7 lakhs. -
The entire P&L is in Grand Continent and the lease or the landowners doesn’t have any risk.
They get a fixed return and they get an yearly increment and they keep moving ahead. Why we do this is because we don’t have any interferences from the landowner. We are let free to have our own business model done and we ensure that we select properties where there is a demand for hotels.
And that is why we are confident that after giving a lease then we will still be able to make a decent EBITDA margin of 25%. 28% or 30% maximum. -
we have a clarity of another 500 keys, 600 keys with us for this financial year. I think we will be closing with the opening of at least close to 700 to 800 keys this year, with 200 keys, 300 keys added, signed up and kept in the early first quarter of 2026.
-
Royal Orchid and the Sarovar Group. So the franchise fees ranges for most properties between 3.5%
to 4.5%, and for a couple of properties, it is around 7% which is there.