Futures and options as alternative source of income

Hi to all group members.

Iam basically a novice investor with long term horizon.

I want to have alternative source of income from Futures&Options. Senior members please let me know the pros & cons and whether futures & options can create a steady source of monthly income?
What are the best books to read? Any online sites to learn.

Iam a radiologist by profession, as with everybody else the time to
dedicate is limited, please let me know the most effective ways
to reach my goal.

1 Like

Towards Risk profile: FnO segment is very risky , if you can’t able to handle volatility this might not be the option for you. Swing trade is the better option with limited risk reward ratio.

on a lighter note: Long term investor ko market saalo me koi din nanga karata hai , Trader ko market roz karvata hai !! XD)

1 Like

Future & Options should be avoided, not for retailers. F&O are mainly for hedging that too for large (institutional) investors

Honest opinion- I don’t think future and options work as a alternative source of income. For me alternative source is to get spare time from my routine job/business and where I don’t have to pay higher attention and can earn the money.

Futures and options is highly a time requirement exercise, where you have to constant monitor and if bets are not in the favor you need to square off, because their nature are such. Where volatility comes into picture you need to adequate understand the product and given the time you need to adequate evaluate the betting possibilities.

I think, futures and options are for whom who can constantly engaged with the markets in minute to minute basis. Even after giving the full time attention the success ratio is not been in favor to approach.