Feedback on Investment Strategy

Hi,

I am new to the stock market investment and just started reading books and online material including the discussion on this forum. I find it quite useful and helping me to learn.I have invested in few direct stocks and mutual funds, but thinking if following strategy can work in long term:

Its an improved SIP, calculating investment amount based on Nify P/E. Assuming that at lower P/E (e.g. 18.5) it’s a case of maximum possible investment and at higher P/E (e.g. 22.5) its a case of no investment.
Which means at P/E 20.5, you will invest 100% of dedicated money for that installment, at P/E 18.5 invest 200% and at P/E 22.5 invest 0%.

So the installment can be calculated from this formula:
(Highest P/E - (Current P/E))*Dedicated amount /(Highest P/E - Lowest P/E)

1. Select 2 top rated funds as per the risk appetite.(Mid or multi cap in my case). There are many funds with a good return record of 20% + CAGR.
  2. Every monday/tuesday of the week calculate the installment based on above formula and current P/E and invest in one of the fund.
  3. On alternate week, invest in alternate funds.

Please note that highest P/E and lowest P/E can be decided based on individual’s choice/comfort.

Advantage from this strategy:

1. Invest regularly purely based on market valuation.
  2. Always in monitoring mode, and always in buying mode, it could be possible that we donot buy, but every week is considered as buying opportunity.
  3. Since always in monitoring mode, it will give an opportunity of bulk purchase also. E.g. if the P/E is under 19, it could be considered as opportunity to buy in bulk.
  4. It looks bit of work, but it’s actually not. There is no need to analyse company stocks. Its just Nifty valuation and selection of funds. The primary job is not affected as it’s more of automated strategy.

Can the experts please review this strategy, if it can work in the favour ?

Thanks,