ESOS and its implications to individual investor

Greetings,
I am a novice in investing and know few basics on investing.

Regarding Employee Stock Options Schemes, I want to understand the implications of an organization issuing stocks to its employees either as a discount purchase or free grants as incentives.

Let us say the Organization has 10, 000 stocks outstanding trading at 100. It has decided to grant 10 stocks as incentives and 10 stocks at a discount of 50%.
As a retail investor, what are the implications of these 20 stocks given to its employees by an organization?

Do the value of the market cap and intern share price reduce by [ 10 + 5 (50% *10) ] * 100 ?

What is the takeaway for a retail investor when the Org issues stocks under ESOS to its employees either as grants or discount purchase?

We wish to inform you that the Bank has allotted today 1695600 equity shares to the 
employees of the Bank pursuant to exercise of options under its Employees Stock Options Schemes (ESOS). 
The paid-up share capital of the Bank will accordingly increase from Rs. 5184130434 equity shares of Rs 2/- each to Rs. 5187521634 equity shares of Rs 2/- each.
2 Likes

The simple Math is:

((10,000 * 100) + (10 * 100) + (10 * 50)) / (10,000 + 10 + 10) = â‚ą99.95.

When more equity is issued, regardless of whether at par or discount, existing shareholders lose value.

1 Like

Thank you Dinesh,
I have few more doubts.Please pardon my ignorance.

When the Org issues stocks to employees,
are these stocks given from account held in org name ? or
more stocks are created for the employee grants.

Also, in the example, I mentioned 10 stocks are given as free grants and 10 at 50% discount.

For 10 grants, org will lose 10 * 50 = 500 value.
But why 10 *100 is in the numerator? The remaining 10 stocks are given as free.

Should it become like this
((10,000 * 100) + (10 * 50)) / (10,000 + 10 + 10)

1 Like