Dividend Growth Investing

Hello All,

This is my first post here. I have been reading posts on this forum for close to 6 months and it’s been a great learning experience.

Even though I have been investing close to 2 years, I am still a very novice investor. During my learning curse I was fascinated by one strategy “Dividend Growth Investing”, however could not find any topic, blog, videos, posts anywhere related to this.Whatever I could find is predominantly in US context.

I understand it is not effective taxation wise however this is excellent strategy for someone who wishes to build passive income source and would like to get out of the rat race as soon as possible.

I don’t see too many discussions on this topic in Valuepickr as well. Appreciate your insights on this topic and would love to exchange opinions and learnings.

Note : Self exploration taught me I am not good at picking smallcap stocks or even sector rotation for that matter. I would love to understand the business and hold it as long as possible and which give good dividend over a period of time. This typically makes me lean towards largecap stocks.

4 Likes

Did you read this?

1 Like

@ChaitanyaC thank you for the reply. Yes, I did go through the thread.

It has some interesting conversations however very less discussion on the strategies on how to identify dividend aristocrats or dividend growers

Then I guess you have to go through them by yourself, know about the companies’ cash flows, past dividend payout, consistency in dividend disbursal, future business outlook etc, not to mention the appropriate time of entry.

Also I think, the times of building such a pure dividend based passive income PF is not available as much like it did years ago, with bonus shares, splits etc. And if you are young, it might not be that profitable as you have many growth stories to choose from, and the capital is less.