Diversification vs Concentrated Portfolio

Hi, I am new here, just signed up. I have been investing in equities for last 2+ years, mostly by hear say or reading blogs. I have a fairly diversified portfolio (attached, with % allocation to various stocks and returns as on date), and I think they are far too many there :smile: ) across industries and market capā€™s.

My doubt is what level of diversification is good? Am I having too many and will it be better to stick to maybe 20 stocks? Any suggestions thoughts around this will really help.
VP PF Review.xlsx (12.3 KB)

With the collective experience here, if there are any bad apples for long term which I should move out of, let me know.

Thanks
Varadharajan

As mind is fresh, I just wrote a piece of concentrated investing.

If I peek into your file of portfolio, I may ask these questions to myself:

1. Banks, Pharma, Infrastructure, Airlines, Luxury jewellery and long tail. Do I understand all of them? For example renewable energy is not my cup of tea.
  2. Even if you want to diversify, chunk the themes. For example- why 5 banks, 5 pharma. Why not select one in each sector? Second theme will be diversify only on high public float or low public float? High public float will allow you to escape easily. Another theme should I go for low base companies like 200-500 cr MCAP.
  3. A bear case- as so many diverse companies are there whatā€™s my action plan a. when stock fundamentals are worsening (how do I know and jump the ship). b. in case market crashes which one to sell and keep.

To confirm whether your diversification works, you need to know CAGR. If the number of 30% in file is one year then itā€™s an excellent return for such a diversified portfolio.

I guess you run a business understanding, should be able to prune quite a few.

Good luck.

5 Likes