CSB BANK - will it become next HDFC Bank?

Hi Friends,

This is my first attempt to share my analysis with you guys. I use to read this blog a lot and also follow a couple of great minds present over here. I would like to share my one of the favorite stock which I own in my PF (allocation of 10%). I will try to rationalize my analysis over here. Share your thoughts on this. Lets dive in but first pls note: I am not a registered advisor.

CSB Bank

History:

• It’s a century-old bank earlier known as Catholic Syrian Bank. Mainly serving Southern India.
  • Prem Watsa, Canadian Warren Buffett (he is the same person who bought Fairchem, IIFL, etc), had purchased around 50% capital in 2019 at an average cost of Rs.140 per share.
  • IPO came at a price of Rs.195/share. Oversubscribed and went to Rs.300 on the listing.
  • The new management started cleaning the Books which led to high write-offs and provisions.
  • Previously the employees were on the IBA pay scale, now started recruiting on a contractual basis which led to the hiring of 3 younger staff at the cost of 1 IBA staff.
  • Hired Pralay Mondal from Axis Bank.
  • Added a board member from PWC
  • Branch expansion began across geographies. Currently, there are around 450 branches and they are planning to take it to 1000 in 5 years.
  • Huge hiring from Axis Bank and Bajaj Finance was done to introduce new product lines e:g Bike loan, etc. as the bank was mainly in Gold/SME Loan.
  • Given VRS in this quarter to around 200 staff which will lead to an impact of Rs.80 crore in this quarter.
    This was an update to date. Now let’s look at financials. Unlike other companies, financial parameters for evaluating banks and NBFC/ FI are different. Let’s look at key parameters.
    Yield on Advances – Up from 10.72% to 10.98%
    Cost of Deposits - Down from 5.91% to 4.91%
    NIM – Up from 3.92% to 5.17% (However this might not sustain, it will be b/w 4-5%)
    Yield on investments – Up from 6.33% to 7.00%