Chins' Portfolio

Hi everyone,

I’m currently in the middle of my PhD in applied mathematics, and I’m very new to the stock market, having started only in July. I found Screener to be a wonderful testing ground for different ideas, and through it I discovered this forum. The threads for each individual stock has not only allowed me to complete my investing thesis, but has also chronicled how the story behind each stock has changed over time - something a price chart or a few articles from across the web just cannot do.

I’m creating this thread to share my portfolio, my ideas that I’ve been running through Screener, and to keep a record of new metrics that I learn over time.

Most of my capital is invested in the core portfolio. Further down, I explain what Screener idea lead me to invest in a particular stock. The fun begins with the second portfolio. The idea is that any profits that I book go directly into a second portfolio comprising of companies with < 1000 Cr. market cap. This allows me to invest without risk into companies that could potentially correct sharply, and also controls the amount I invest in them at a time, allowing me to see how the ideas develop.

Core Portfolio

Entry

With the current bull run, most of the stocks I’ve been watching are trading above their historic multiples. Interestingly, since July, many stocks have been trading with their 50DMA acting as a support line. I don’t want to search for value for the sake of it, and I’ve found comfort in entering around the 200DMA as funds also use that as a metric to enter. To account for huge movements that have happened over a short period of time (JK Tyres recently), I’ve also included the 170DMA to understand how the 200DMA will evolve. In the past, I’ve also found the Keltner channels and Starc bands to be useful.

• Trent, CaplinPoint, and IOL Chemicals have the closest entry to the 200DMA and I’m using this opportunity to buy more.