Chandu's Portfolio

Hello ValuePickrs,
I am currently pursuing a Ph.D. in Computer Science and am a new investor (have just started investing around 10 months ago). I have been regularly reading threads on ValuePickr for the past six months or so, however, this is my first post here. I am creating this thread to share my portfolio. As I am very new in the investing space, I hope to find some valuable suggestions here that will help me grow as an investor.

For me, the objective behind investing in direct equities is to beat the index by at least 5% in the long run. I am market-cap agnostic, and the current average market-cap of my portfolio is around 20k cr. I am learning new ideas each and every day, and hence my portfolio doesn’t have any unique style. I am happy to have a high churn till I find the investing style that suits me. Also, since I don’t have the ability to keep track of my investments every day, my portfolio size is around 20 stocks (currently at 21). I am sharing the portfolio here along with a one-line thesis. I plan to follow this up with a detailed write-up on each stock in the near future:

1. Apollo Tricoat
    Average Buying Price: 690 (CMP 959)
    Portfolio Allocation: 5.6%
    This is an indirect investment in APL Apollo Tubes (to be merged), which is the best player in the structural steel tubes space (a fast-growing sector) with rising EBITDA per tonne due to product premiumisation.

2. Deepak Nitrite
    Average Buying Price: 1982 (CMP 2276)
    Portfolio Allocation: 7.59%
    This is a company known for its import substitution and its recent Capex announcement on downstream derivatives of phenolics provides a fresh opportunity.

3. Equitas Holdings
    Average Buying Price: 117 (CMP 117)
    Portfolio Allocation: 4.88%
    This is one of the latest entrants in my portfolio and is an indirect investment in Equitas Small Finance Bank, which is improving its asset mix, and I find it very undervalued.

4. Healthcare Global