Can passive investors make decent money?

My simple question, is it possible for passive investors without too much of a concentrated portfolio make returns to the tune of 20% CAGR?

I’ve read all the usual books referred to here, can read financial statements, although can’t think of the implications of each number and possibilities of the numbers being cooked up. I am an engineer although I have a business degree and read business publications. ( I know what Munger says about business degrees and generally think, he is right in some aspects)

Of course, I should be able to invest in a few mutual funds and forget about it. But I’d like some intellectual challenge to pursue.

When I was pursuing business degree, my professor/coursework emphasized on diversification and technical analysis. Although now after reading about it for about a year, I have learned from the wisdom of VPers that concentrated portfolios and fundamental analysis of undiscovered companies is what creates wealth.

Here is my current strategy:
I have started a few investments in individual stocks starting March 2015, my current portfolio is like a fund.
(Not that I started in the bull market, it was too painful to open a demat account earlier.) I buy a few stocks of every company I’m interested in/hear of, for tracking and further research. I dread paying taxes, so I plan to hold a stock at least for a year and have not sold anything yet, in spite of some of them going down more than 25%. So I know I can control my emotions and can be patient.

After a year, I need to figure out how to sell a few and make my portfolio more concentrated. I have only 2-3 stocks which are at least 5% of the portfolio.