As of today the Sensex and Nifty 50 are at 2024 levels. This means that in the last 2 years there has been on a holistic level little to no growth in stocks. Adding to that more than 1 lac crore was wiped out in March 2026.
The one principle I would like to share is this. The current situation is not a stock market crash or a heavy bear market. It is at best a steep correction/bear market. But in my view, this is the hardest time for an investor. In case of a stock market crash the investor knows exactly why stock prices have fallen and then he knows there won’t be further deterioration in prices and prices won’t go down. But in these corrected markets we do not know whether the market will go further down, or whether we should invest at these bargain prices. This is a very difficult and strange dilemma which tests one’s patience. If this was Covid 19 everyone would know that no further decline is possible and fresh capital could be infused at rock bottom prices. But to infuse capital and watch it deteriorate on account of the uncertain West Asia war is harder in my view.
So the question is should one invest in companies offering good prices right now or wait? I would recommend everyone keep some cash ready and at the same time take advantage of the current low prices. But the opportunity should not be completely missed. In case of a crash the cash can be used as well.