Best Investing Approach?: Wide Moat business vs Undervalued business

Posted byNadakarniat June 28. 2012

Dear Donald,

I would like to understand which one is the best way to approach investing.

1). Invest in great companies with wide moats ( some business advantages) and hold it for a long time - high RoE, high Margin, low Debt, superior product, leadership etc

Companies like Crisil, Castrol, Pidilite, Asian Paints, Gillette, Colgate, P&G etc

2). Invest in undervalued securities

I have been managing my portfolio for 2 years; returns are ~6%; have mix of both.

Regards

Posted byDonaldat Monday 15:46

Dear Nadakarni,

Nice topic…I am sure there will be multiple views…and takes on this…based on one’s experiences…

My views are as follows…from my exp of last ~7 years

1.Stock Returns)- come form theGAPbetweenExpectations(built into the stock price) andResultsdelivered. If there is large outperformance (between results and expectations), there are large returns.

This is a crucial aspect to appreciate. I can recommend reading “Future for Investors” by Prof Jeremy Siegel, that drilled this home into me, early on.

Usually this GAP is pretty narrow in perennial favourites like the stocks you have mentioned as future expectations are pretty much built into the stock price. However, you do get opportunities to pick these up once every 3-4 years - when there is a secular crash. I look to pick them up only at such times …when the GAP is Big!

2.Portfolio Returns)- are dependent NOT on Stock Returns, but onCapital Allocation. How much have you bet and where? There is a very meaty discussion onCapital Allocationin ValuePickr… Surprisingly I am yet to find a book that does justice to this topic… if anyone knows of one, please alert me.