Behavioural Finance- don’t fall in love with markets

This is one area deserves a special place in forum. The last mile stone where even you can bring back the horizon. An investor attains eternity, find a stairway for stardom. Behavioral finance differentiates good from rest, the proverbial separating wheat from chaff; happens to be tag line of valuepickr.

Academically behavioural finance is the study of causes and effects behind irrational financial decisions. Behavioural finance is a subset of behavioural economics. Other areas closely associated with behavioural finance are cognitive studies, subject of psychology. Behavioural finance has seen several advanced versions even when its relatively new such as neural finance and economics. Earlier NLP (Neuro Linguistic Programming) studies were very similar to behavioural finance.

But before let me say something. I am a student of behavioural finance that to unsuccessful student. My writings may turned out be here amateurish and made me a laughing stock. Still I am pushing this subject here because a focussed forum like valuepickr is build on networking of human ideas; must have something about guiding principles behind those networking ideas. Hence the attempt!

It’s a mega subject, not sure where to start. Just an idea of how it started and what key resources are must to get acquainted.

Traders and investors have been known to use the intuition, instinct, gut etc for a long time. Mostly these were black holes to others who wanted to know how these people are using such ideas, at the same time it was difficult for those who were exercising to explain in details. Watch these statements:

• I know I am right, market has to fall (Jesse Lauriston Livermore before famous 400-million-dollar short selling in 1929, almost one fourth of US stock market).
  • I felt a back ache, pain shooting through left shoulder. Heart attack :blush:. No, George Soros before infamous short selling of pound which broke Bank of England.