Bala's portfolio Need suggestions

Hi Value pickr Members,

I’m a beginner in stock market and took positions in following stocks by doing research in value pickr and screener.

Ajanta Pharma- 20%
PI industries - 15%
Tata Motors - 15%
Praj industries - 15%
Just Dial - 15%

Cash ~ 20%

I would like to buy more in these stocks on dips.Kindly provide your valuable suggestions.

Regards
Bala

1 Like

Your portfolio appears fairly concentrated for a beginner. Concentration should be a natural outcome of knowledge and (justified) confidence in the thesis. Neither of which is expected to be high for a beginner. I think you should think about that. It is better to concentrate as you rise on the learning curve.

Also for us to be able to give you some feedback, it would be useful to hear your brief thesis on each of these names. That will also enable you to put your learnings together cogently.

2 Likes

Thanks a lot for your reply:-

Ajanta Pharma,PI industries and Tata motors are blue chip stocks with following attributes which have undergone some correction.PI industries will have advantage as there were reports that monsoon will be good and budget allocation to agri space.Tata motors sales may increase as there is proposal to ban trucks which are 15 year old.

(Average return on equity 5Years > 20) AND
(Debt to equity < 1.5) AND
(Interest Coverage Ratio > 2) AND
( PEG Ratio <= 1) AND
(Profit growth 5Years > 20)

Mid cap companies Just dial and Praj industries:-

Just dial is a good stock which also has offered a buyback on share at a price of 1550 and I think its a good point to enter.

Praj industries is also a debt free company and promoters are aggressively buying the stock in market.

Regards
Bala

Bala - It’s good to add financial company and a bank to your portfolio. They will give really good returns when economic turnaround happens.

Hi Bala,