20 Months, 90 Bankruptcy in US Oil and Gas companies: Are we on a brink of recession?

I am starting this topic to get a view across other sectors about layoffs happening that may hint at a recession.

I am working in the Oil Industry and have got various feedback from my vendors about layoffs happening in their MNC companies infrastructure division eg. GE, L & T. the scale and fear of layoffs is too high right now. The main reason being given is the lack of new projects coming in.

Can others post about any such news from their workplace or their sectors?

A perspective from banking:

I work in a bank and it has been hiring aggressively for the last 2 years. One can safely assume that this trend exists in many private sector banks as many of my colleagues have switched their jobs and have got better pay packages on other private banks. There are many from other banks who have come over to mine for better pay and perks.

Looking at this one can safely assume that the private sector banks are indeed doing very well or their managements are expecting much better performance and demand for credit in future.

1 Like

do you really think this topic deserves a new thread?

Thanks Shriraj Sir for the feedback. I think that there is chain of events such as slow down in the spending as there has been a lot of investment in the past 3 years (at least by OMC) Now there is a trend of reduced spending which in turn is affecting projects taken by big vendors which in turn starts affecting small sub vendors. This is causing layoffs. Which will decrease money spending in the economy. I think banks will be the last to be affected and effects won’t be immediate.

My idea was to take advantage of the network available here at VP to gain a wider perspective on the matter.

Mods are free to delete this topic if they deem it to be unnecessary.

Can you please put forward your logic how layoffs in one industry could lead to recession?