My Portfolio_Homemaker

Hi ValuePickrs !

Belated Diwali greetings to all of you.

I come from non finance, non business and non tech back ground. I used screener for almost a year but never knew it comes from same family of ValuePickr. I am very new to investing in stocks and I find all financial formulas, ratios, graphs, macro-economic and political factors to be bit difficult. Having said that I have learnt few basic concepts of EPS growth, PE, PEG, ROE & CAGR from Investopedia( Its Like Wikipedia for finance). Few of my friends suggested Motilal WC study and after cursory reading I realized that above basic formulas are very important and basic. I have invested a small capital in 10 stocks in October 1st/2nd week and want to share my portfolio with you all for criticism and feedback. Thanks in advance !!!

Overall Rationale of investing

1. 15% return on average. Approx doubling every 5 years.
  2. Max loss absorbing ability (30%).
  3. Limited no of stocks- max 10 as tracking, gaining knowledge is impossible for me
  4. Select a common set of (known names, past winners, present bargains, good outlook, and good ratios). Ideally all together but should have most of them
  5. Max 10 stock portfolio- any new addition will be after exiting one of them
  6. Holding period- min 1 year or -20% whichever comes earlier. Max- as long as growing

10 Likes

Many Thanks for your inputs. Out of your suggestion, I am tracking Page, Nestle, Asian Paints. Also these are relatively easy to understand business. However, if at all I buy, I will add only after exiting equivalent nos of stocks in my portfolio. Else, will get confused with too many stocks. 1 from pharma & 1 from IT is also a good suggestion…any specific names…please do suggest. As far as financial stocks are concerned, Bajaj Fin is a past winner, HDFC is a reliable brand, HDFC standard life is possibly the best private insurer.