ADF FOOD LTD - FMCG Company for Next Decade

Some notes from the Q4 concall

Revenue Visibility

1. The new greenfield capacity will add 3x of its 60 cr investment and will be up and running by 2024. So about 180 cr incremental revenue is expected going forward from 2024
  2. Another 50 odd cr revenue is ecpected from the current setup by modernising the current plant (which is running at almost optimum level ) and the leased facility (which started in Apr 21) which they expect to also rake up to optimum level in 2021 itself
  3. Overall the co has given guidance to reach 600cr revenue in the next 4-5 years

Margins

1. 10-12% EBITDA margins are sustainable in the agency business
  2. 30-35% gross margins are sustainable in the contract/Private label business which is roughly 30% of the topline
  3. In the own brand business the gross margins are 60% -65% roughly
  4. Agency business is going to be 25% of their overall business and their main focus in on propogating their own brands
  5. Plans to take over a channel partner. Discussion in last leg. This will be margin accretive
  6. For new greenfield facility - plan is to take debt because govt policies mandate taking on debt from selected banks to receive PLI and other govt benefits else can fund entire thing from internal accruals
  7. Going forward intend to open 3 more distribution centers to better manage logistics
  8. Overall margins for each vertical are sustainable

Growth Levers

1. New products - they are going to launch a new meat brand for the US/UK markets
  2. Renewed focus on domestic business - starting with online sales then moving to modern trade and then general trade
  3. With restaurants opening up in their key geographies - lost revenue is expected to come back - some 3-4 million dollars so about ~30 crs
  4. In discussions to add a new client for agency biz- Unilever+1
  5. Currently in the top 3 in Indian ethnic food stores. Drive to get into mainstream retail
  6. No direct online presence - have enlisted services of a US co specialzing in online business

My notes

1. Co seems to be doing the right thiings and has laid a clear roadmap to get to 600 crs
  2. The ROCE is very good for each vertical right now with Processed foods doing 35% and distribution doing 25%.
  3. Margins for processed foods has been really consistent for the last few years at 20-23% giving confidence that they are sustainable in the long run
  4. The distribution biz is in the nascent stage, however Unilever has some product or the other to launch and lately become super agressive in the processed foods market
    5 Overall - i think there are enough growth levers in my view for investors to bank on and one should see a steady 15% growth rate going forward. Valuation wise, given its growth plans one can expect a 15% type return going forward in my view

few more points from concall
by fy 24: capex 90 cr with AT 3x gives around 300 Revenue.
Indian Business to grow 10% level from 1% which gives 100 cr with A&SP 15 cr. Agency business will be 20-25% of consolidated revenue. R&D spend increased to 50L from 2L last year. Lock down sale loss of 34 crore.

Good to see ADF doing all the right things to improve reach and cross selling opportunities. Now with its tieup with Patanjali to exclusively distribute its products in UK and West Europe , we will see hopefully see greater asset turns in this segment improving overall ROC of the business which is quite nice to begin with.

what’s triggering the recent rally ? ??

Nikhil Vora sixth sense ventures bought 5 percent stake in the company, he is an astute stock picker in consumer space.

Q1 concall notes

1. Increase in margin due to increased efficiencies, softening in rm & freight costs
  2. New product launches like frozen curries like palak paneer for food service in restaurants, chole, dal lakhn ii, ghee : 500g, 1 kg, 2 kg
  3. Large cold storage capacity in New Jersey, faster fulfillment
  4. Ashoka growing at 40% in q1. 33% cagr. 200 cr
  5. Received listing nods from 3 discounters, 15 cues spread across uk, usa
  6. Standalone 17% growth
  7. Capacity utilisation in us warehouse: up & running last week. At Max cap we can do 10 containers. Full capacity utilisation right now.
  8. Margins : Q3, q4 have higher margins. Q1 low demand : people travel. Consol 18-22% type margins
  9. Capex : 50 cr stage 1, 30 cr stage 2 in fy24 & fy25. Greenfield project in Surat. 250 cr revenue. 3x asset turn.
  10. Aksa capital : demand is robust. Can maintain 20% growth rate at consol level
  11. Supplying to Walmart Canada since few years. Supplying to other large retailers too.
  12. Costco relationship trying to develop
  13. Got 2 large retailers in uk. 350 stores
  14. Talks going on with large retailers in usa. Ready by Q3 of this year
  15. 1.5 cr pli benefits in this Q
  16. Freight is 7-8% cost in standalone. 7% can remain for the year. Bottoming out already
  17. Other expenses include many heads. Some are fixed costs. Lot of focus on launch we are doing. Certain expenses we incurred for testing , presentation. Investment for future sales growth
  18. Sales mix : aata, rice were there in last year in distribution. Margins were high. Product mix is reason for low margin in distribution biz. 9-10% is steady state ebit margins in distribution biz. Unilever biz is negligible now
  19. Consol & india & adf food usa losses are in the subsidiary
  20. Kanav garg : garg advisors. B2B fell. All our brands grew from fy21 to fy23. B2B can also come.back next year. They were sitting on lot of inventory
  21. Distribution: really helped grow our own brands. Utilizing distribution to grow own brand. We are in investment phase. Fixed costs high. Margins can increase after the sales increases in distribution biz
  22. Pasta paste & sauces are also in same range as other products
  23. Promoter pledged share holding. 8-10%. This was pledged last year. 5% of total shareholding. Raising funds for prescription of preferential share warrants. Soul brand doing well in Ahmedabad. Market karna chahiye
  24. It’s present on big basket, Amazon
  25. 50 cr spent in fy24 & fy25. Phase 2 after we start selling products from phase 1
  26. 1 more capex. Adjoining plot we have bought. Freezer capacity. State of art cold storage
  27. Brownfield is faster to ramp. 12-18 m to set up Greenfield project
  28. 30% debt. 70% from equity.
  29. Teleric foods markets soul brand
  30. Accotera , patanjali contract is for 5 years
  31. Process in research: sales team in all markets. They go to market.daily. Get feedback from distributor
  32. Middle East brands camil, aeroplane growing at 20% every year
  33. Looking at acquisitions and have evaluated middle East too
  34. 700 store , 400 store in uk for large retailers. Launch in 450 stores, 170 stores
  35. Standalone 25% cagr, 15% cagr in distribution, consol 20% cagr

Disclaimer: Studying, have a tracking position

hii Sahil bhai

One Question

If we look at their segmental revenue they have one segment of distribution business which is earning just around 6-7% margins whereas their other processed food business is earning 25% plus
So why is the management wasting time and money in low margin business??

They have answered that while distribution of other brands products like patanjali and uniliver they are able to penetrate their brands also …so my question was how sustainable is this strategy also don’t you think that capital and energy can be deployed in increasing our own brands ???

Also what do u think would be the margins of distribution business going forward
Management has said that right now business is in investment mode and fixed costs are very high once sales increase there would be an increase in margins so do u think there is any chance of operating leverage playing out in near future ?? ???

I think the reasoning for still continuing with the distribution business despite the lean margins is to build network of distributors and retailers and gain shelf space using established brands for future sale of their own products.

You’re right about the margins, they are likely to remain low (maybe 8-12%) even after the investment phase matures.

Its very difficult to get connections, unless you have a proper thread to hold on.

I think management s doing right thing in going with distribution. With existing brands like panjali and HUL u will also get ur shelf space. Moreover if u go alone with u r own products logistics and other cost also increase.

In this distribution business u shouldn’t see profit margin alone. How do u multiply u r sales keeping margin constant is utmost important.

ADF is already doing it. So no issue is there. They are in right track i think.

Concall Notes - Feb 2024

Revenue Growth:

Impacted by the Red Sea crisis towards the end of the quarter
Investing in brand building and profitable products for long-term growth
New products launched under the Ashoka brand, including frozen desserts and sauces
Financial Performance:

EBITDA margins improved year-on-year
Driven by cost reduction and sales mix
Benefited from the PLI scheme, with expected benefits to continue over the next few years
Market Focus:

Accelerating growth in the Indian market
Distribution business in the U.S. is a key market for the company
Investments in warehousing capabilities
Sales and Marketing:

Leveraging e-commerce channel for growth
Focus on performance marketing and feedback loop for product development
Expansion Plans:

Plans for expanding capacity and greenfield projects
Maintaining a debt-free balance sheet
Long-Term Growth Strategies:

On track to achieve revenue targets and maintain margins
Focus on long-term growth strategies

Our flagship brand, Ashoka, is growing at a CAGR of upwards of 30%. Our products
and manufacturers both at our Nadiad and Nasik plants, which have a combined capacity of
28,000 metric tons.

We also have a branded foods agency business for distribution of select FMCG products. These

are renowned brands, including Lipton, Brooke Bond Red Label, Taj Mahal and Knorr Soup.

This substantially broadens our offering and enhances our store presence in overseas countries.

Feb 2024 concall

combination of our own brands as well as our agency-backed business backed by our
manufacturing strength has contributed to healthy EBITDA margins in the range of 20%