Vivek Gautam Portfolio

Hi vivek

Which co’s are you betting in Pharma & speciality chem sector?

I’ve taken positions in following co’s:-

Pharma – Alembic, Dr. Reddy, Laurus, Divi’s Lab, Alkem Labs, IPCA

Speciality chem - Bharat Rasayan, aarti, PI, Valiant organics, Fine Organic

All are in equl proportion. What do you think of this portfolio? I really want to trim down to 7-8 co’s. Any suggetions?

Yes its a big pain but ghar me kaun samjhaye . For them RE is only thing specially with kids . Though their advice on buying Gold was great & not buying it mistake was mine.

RE first house is necessary. But any further investment is waste unlike West where rental yield is much more then intt being paid by you.

VPers shud not commit the same mistake & learn from the mistake of others.

All are good cos. Keep averaging on upside as they execute and come with good nos. Convert ones which dont into best performing stock. Cutting the weed & watering the flowers

Vivek any views on Route Mobile? Listing today…

Hi Vivek,

Any view on HLE glasscoat from 2-3 years POV ? Stock has seen good run up recently.

Infact, RE in developed nation is rarely an investment route. Ticket size is very large, interest although less, is offset by huge maintenance costs in long run. They hardly have any affinity to either RE or Gold and there is already big financialization of savings. Still there are many success stories by those (generally specialists in RE business) buying the right property (both in India and abroad - be it land or house from rental or appreciation point of view). It requires lot of research and vision from the buyer point of view and not just buying any property on sale. (People buying land in some select tier 2 or niche Indian cities are faring way better than flat buyers in top Indian metro cities in last 10 years and returns are comparable to equities)
Also, you never know how the next 10 years are going to be - for Land, for flat, for gold or for equities so writing off any Asset class just because last 8-10 years have not been good for us may not be the best way forward is what I feel. Although I agree, RE has many hassles and may not be worth the efforts in current scenarios provided you keep picking the right stocks :slight_smile:

Buying land is itself a big headache, the days of powerful land grabbing mafia, plus maintaining it not easy in some small towns. If one works in a place X and buy land in another place Y which is a little far away , always problem to maintain.

Better to stay invested in liquid assets like equity n some gold

Today was the topsy turvy listing of Chemcon Speciality Chemical IPO marked by 115% return & listing at 731 in pre open vs IPO of 340 & fell almost immediately at 10 AM & went on going down until 20% LC at 584.

This came after great returns from Rossary Biotech,Happiest Minds & Route Mobile IPOs. MDL a staid defence PSU also attracted record oversubscription

These are dangerous signs & time to be very cautious. as RJ says Nafe ki daru ka nasha bahut khatarnak hota h. When whole crowd gets in time to be very cautious in specially in IPOs & dont be in a hurry to buy on listing.

Better book profits & wait for valuation to get saner and revisit your checklist of buying stocks which shud be the same for primary or secondary. Dont get sucked into momentum investing.

Invest in IPOs as if u r investing in secondary mkt & once checklist is ticked give time to unique IPOs coming at reasonable valuations.

Vivek Ji - You are a master of IPO Investment. But of late you are Inactive! Do you feel recent IPO’s not of good quality? What is your view on recently listed CAMS? I feel it is a good proxy to Mutual Fund financialisation theme. But I am worried that the proceeds of the IPO goes to promoters and not to the company.

I appreciate your view on CAMS. Thanks.

One needs to be cautious of IPOs in bullish time.

Bear market IPOs make best money.

I cud not find much growth in Cams hence booked profit on listing day.

Guys keep a watch on Route mobile . Good CAGR & ROCE and a sector where opp size is increasing under first gen entrepreneur with growth mindset & execution capabilities.

Platform based model which cud give asymmetric growth. Business started with 2 lacs 15 years back has a topline of rs 950 cr in fy 20 showing business is asset light & scalable.

Marquee client list like Facebook, Amazon,Google,Hdfc bank .80% business from exports.was awarded with Evosys the fastest growing indian co in UK.

Good anchor list & 80% of available float mopped up by Goldman Sachs & KIA on listing day.

Pharma stocks having strong tailwinds. feel story has just started , I second RJ view on IT & Pharma good interview must watch.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/markets/stocks/news/full-interview-rakesh-jhunjhunwala-on-indias-growth-recovery-bull-market-and-more/videoshow/78422635.cms

Congrats Hary on Valiant organics up 15% today to 3470.

Holding since ipo @220 and bought more on listing betting on ethical promoter Aarti group & tailwinds in the chemical sector. Keep investing simple and just give time to stocks which clear ones checklist.

Another good interview to absorb the learnings

Thanks Vivek :slight_smile:

I exited Bharat Rasayan a month back & doubled down on Valiant organics. So far it has been a good ride.

Cud u please explain point no 6 regarding laggards

A good interview.

INTERESTING INTERVIEWS

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ct1dc8NhN1M

GOOD NOS FROM ROUTE & IT ZOOMED TO UC.

GAVE GOOD BUYIN OPP FEW DAYS BACK AT LC OF 687 WHEN ANCHOR LOCKIN PERIOD ENDED.

CONCALL AT 5 PM TODAY

Superlative nos from Laurus labs today. Bought some more today. Rationale remains the same as explained earlier. Ride your winners & cut the losers.

A good interview