Disclosure - no investment.
I was piqued enough by @varadharajanr observations to do a cursory look at AR 15. My own observations on top of his below.
-
They hired EY LLP in FY 15 for internal audit for Rs 14,00,000. This was done by in-house personnel until FY 14. Consequently “Payment to auditors” has jumped 3 times to 24 lakhs.
-
The statutory auditor mentioned last year (FY 14) that internal control systems were commensurate with the size of the company. Then why is it that with just a 15% top-line growth a big 4 internal auditor had to be sought, paying them nearly 3 times the statutory auditor?!
-
This year’s annual report does not carry Annexure to the Independent Auditor’s Report. My friends in the audit profession will be shocked to know this. This is disquieting for me as an investor as one would have come to know the state of internal controls among others.
-
I loudly second @varadharajanr 's point that it is well nigh impossible to sign off on audited accounts within 4 days of year closure for a firm of this size and the industry it is in. Maybe it is possible if March was a zero sales month giving enough time to reconcile everything. But that was not the case; JFM quarter had the highest sales for any quarter. Reconciling payables and receivables with creditors and debtors itself takes time. If the auditor managed to do it AND sign accounts in 3 days, it is highly unlikely that he sent out confirmation letters to debtors and creditors and got their satisfactory responses.
-
The audit firm as @varadharajanr mentioned is auditing only this firm among all the listed firms and among all the 26,000 firms Prowess (a database of firms and their stats) has (KCL is not covered by Prowess). That to me is worrying. Without any prejudice to the auditors or audit practice, I know of one-person audit firms who just sign-off on document given to them without complying with audit procedures either in letter or in spirit.
-
Their revenue recognition policy in my view is aggressive and does not allow for returns, although they do have sales returns. “Sales are recognized on inwarding of goods at customer’s end, where applicable as per terms of sale (for domestic) and on the date of bill of lading (for exports). Income arising on disposal of scrap/waste is recognized on receipt basis”
-
I find it surprising that they are not fully funding their gratuity liability of about Rs 3.5 crores when they have about Rs 200 crores in the bank. It is the easiest of all employee liabilities to meet and usually handed over to LIC or such. Typically, a decently run firm would keep its “defined contributions” liability fulfilled, else they may be in violation of Payment of Gratuity Act. They have also not disclosed who’s managing their gratuity.
-
One final observation is that they say they say they get short-term credit at 10.45% from SBI. But if it is a large export merchandise business, they can avail pre-shipment and post-shipment $ credit based on Letter of Credit - which should not be a problem given marquee clients. That would both hedge their currency risks and reduce their interest rates. So it seems quite un-businesslike to take loans at 10.45% (though their finance charges on average borrowings seemed to be 14%). Maybe I am missing something here?
All-in-all I should allow for the possibility that there are valid justifications or even errors for the above unfavorable observations. So comments welcome.
Warm regards,