Investing Basics - Feel free to ask the most basic questions

Please read the book Narrative and Numbers by Prof. Aswath Damodaran. It will give you a framework of how to attempt valuing story stocks. @basumallick wrote about it recently here

Hi everyoneā€¦I have been tracking a company for quite a while. Two things Iā€™ve noticed, for which I would like clarification and understanding from this esteemed groupā€¦

1. Frequent disposal of shares by trustsā€¦ This happens almost every monthā€¦ Havenā€™t seen this with other companies that I trackā€¦What does this usually signify?
  2. Frequent ESOPā€™sā€¦ While good for company and employee morale and income, how well does it bode for other shareholders?

Hope experienced members help me understandā€¦ Thank you:)

Generally cost of debt is lower than cost of equity & hence is more prudent to fund the CAPEX from debt than equity raise. However, there should be some level of valuation post which if you do equity raise thatā€™s more prudent, as in if a company do QIP at a price which is 80-100x P/E, cost of equity should be lower than cost of debt? Is that understanding correct? And how we can calculate whatā€™s that level?

Hello everyone, In Hariom pipes, yesterday, rating agency ( Care ) has rated the company ā€œIssuer Not Cooperatingā€ since 2021-22ā€¦, whereas on 5/6/2024 rating agency ( Crisil ) has given rating accordingly. ( Not tagged - Issuer not cooperating ). How can we analyse it?? Thank you.

I have explained hereā€¦

As an existing shareholder of ITC, What would be my cost of acquisition for ITC Hotels?

Thinking about in terms of capital gain/loss which may arise in the future.

Update: Applied for HUF PAN card. Received yesterday through mail(e-PAN). Very smooth process. Going to visit Bank branch for opening HUF bank account. Will share my learning experience as things progress. Any experience fellow member who have experience on this can share experience. It will be very helpful for newbie like us.

Is there any government website or other way to verify, if the company has actually won the order from the government?

update: Visited Bank today and got the account opening form for HUF. Will have to visit local kachayri for preparation of HUF deed. Thinking of introducing corpus via gift received by my father for amount of 3.5 lakhs. Basis of 3.5 is 0.5 is tax free amount (gift) and remaining 3 lacs will taxed at HUF hand. HUF being legal entity will be liable to get tax exemption upto 3 lacs similar to individual.

Disclaimer: This is my thinking. Will glad to hear other members views, if my understanding of things are not correct.