Investing Basics - Feel free to ask the most basic questions

Is there a quick way or formula to track SME stock in google sheet… to maintain trading journal?

For example: These are formula from Yahoo Finance for tracking NSE and BSE stocks on Google Sheet where we can choose various tickers.

Whichever stock is present in Google Finance Website, only those can be tracked using formula. Some stocks will be missing from Google Finance Website, for those you can try finding a website where the prices are visible and then try usig IMPORT functions

Kindly suggest a resource/thread where how to calculate break even point of a business is elaborated in some detail.

That’s a very pertinent question. Yes, typically bonus shares would be issued by capitalising reserves, so cash flow statement should have no impact. I am intrigued!

Bonus was given in FY 2022-23 (Jan 2023) and not in FY 2023-24. Here’s what I found from the AR for 20223-23, though this still doesn’t explain the entry in the cash flow.

"
d) During the year, the Company allotted and distributed 1,83,22,200 (One Crore Eighty Three Lakhs Twenty-Two Thousand Two Hundred) Equity Shares of Rs. 10/- (Rupees Ten Only) each as bonus shares (hereinafter referred to as new shares) in the ratio 1170:1 on 31st January, 2023.
"

There is no mention of any bonus in the AR for FY 2023-24.

@BuyRightSitTight @aadhar.aggarwal

There’s some mismatch in info.

As per my calc:

Mar’23 P&L Issue Others Sep’23
Share capital 1833.79 0 284.96 0 2118.75
Reserves 2570.07 97.78 2051.712 -103.762 4615.8
4403.86 97.78 2336.672 -103.762 6734.55

However, the issue amount amount is not matching with the amount in CFS.

Proceeds from issue as per cash flow statement 4388.38
Proceeds from issue as per above calculation -2336.672
Difference (shown as bonus issue in CFS) 2,051.7

What this difference figure signifies is not clear

@BuyRightSitTight @lohiyaakshay08 I had written to the company about this in January this year. They clarified that it was a clerical error. They agreed that the bonus shares issued should have been disclosed under financing activities and told me that they would fix this in the results being declared at the end of March 2024.

I have not gone back and checked though whether they did it or not.

is there any relation between fed funds rate cuts and bond yield?

Theoretically when Interest rates go down bond prices go up so the yield of the bond comes down.

How do you account for a demerger in your portfolio on kite? For example, Rossell India share price reduced by 50% approx on demerger date, I assume the demerged companies shares will come, but the Rossell India entry will keep showing losses?

Share price of the residual entity will be adjusted with the price of the demerged entity. Demerged entity will be listed at X price, and this X will be adjusted with the price of residual entity. Prices will get corrected after the allotment. Each will have its own acquisition price.

Any insights on capacity utilization in various sectors?

As per my knowledge cos used to file capacity utilization the their ROC returns, this has been stopped since last many years. Now only analysts will be able to calculate the same.

hi
How to calculate equity base of a company. Kindly elaborate.

Is there any way to watch company Annual general meeting recording, is there any portal where i can either watch or read AGM after it’s being held

Please subscribe to Shubh Labh Research on YT, it has AGM recordings

Hi all, do not want to clutter the Raymond thread hence asking the question here.
I had purchsed Raymond Limited shares on 1st April 2024. And my understanding is that the demerger happened after the above date, so ideally i should receive shares of Raymond Lifestyle as well, right? Reason i am asking this is because i dont see Raymond Lifestyle shares in my demat account.

There is a minimum qty issue or if under pledge contact broker.

Anyways you should receive money or credit of shares.

Contact broker immediately.

Hi everyone, I had bought unlisted shares of Waaree Energies in the past. my average is 1800 rs/ share

They are now coming up with an IPO. they set the IPO price band at 1,427-1,503 rs/ share.

I’m considering applying for an IPO to lower my average price. Will my application get automatically rejected if I already own shares?

What is gain on fair valuation of investment and is it reported in standalone and consolidated statements.?

Hi, My father found physical share certificate of SBBJ bank shares (now SBI Bank), anyone please guide me what is the process for converting physical share into demat account.?