Hitesh portfolio

Hello Hitesh Sir,

Sir, how much importance should be given to operating cash flow..what should be done in case a company’s top line and bottom line is growing but it’s not reflecting in the operating cash flow..

Also Sir, minimum what percentage of profit should come in operating cash flow…please guide…

Thanks & Regards.

Hi, Sorry to intervene - but you can watch this, and you will get all the answers.

If one has to go by the queries put to you, it looks like the Volumes have dried up :).

Quick Question.
In the past, I have seen that after a correction, while the market tries to recover, it rolls back down often (but not necessarily) Close to the ATH/at ATH/few% abv ATH. The observation has been approx 10%; also, it never crossed the absolute low made before.
However, a recent Tweet by MarkMinervine said that although an absolute Bottom might have happened, while the market tries to recover, there could be another correction, which could be swift like a whiplash.
My question to you is, how do you play such scenarios? If we sit out, we can miss the rally, if we play it & set smaller SL we can be shakenout.

Aside, apart from the obvious sectors that are showing strength like Financias (especially Housing), Agriculture (Agrochem/Seeds/Tractors), Textiles & Hospitals. I can see PEB (pre Engineered Buildings) stocks setting up.

1. Pennar Industries

2. InterArch

If you could share you thoughts, that would be of great help.

@sandesh1893

The current rally that started post the near six month correction has been a stop start kind of rally due to various factors. There have been Tariff worries, Indo Pak mini war, and other macro factors like US downgrades, rising bond yields etc.. So we have not seen the typical sharp broad based rally that we have been accustomed to during 2024.

Usually the first leg of any rally is one which has a lot of disbelievers and hence there is often selling at various levels which needs to be digested. Regarding whether we will go down and form a higher low as compared to earlier low, its anybody’s guess. Its better to focus on individual portfolio companies rather than worry too much about market levels or where markets are headed.

Currently the good thing is that a lot of results are out of the way and one can work on a list of companies where results have been good, and or prospects going forward also are good.

Sector rotation will keep happening from time to time. If we can identify the big outperforming sectors going ahead, it can be lucrative. I think as of now, financials and defense seem to be going strong. Need to see how things pan out ahead.

Regarding the charts you have shared, both look strong and seem to be in a strong uptrend.

55 Likes

Sir .are you still Bullish on OAL.wt is your view on OAL to enter in a current level.wt is the best practice need to enter in any stock with SL .or

@fairoos

I dont track OAL currently.

@hitesh2710 ji wanted to know your thoughts on Asian Paints - the once and still market leader in Paints industry, with books written on its moats and entry barriers but swiftly and efficiently broken by Birla. Competetion intensifying amd demand muting simultaenously amd Birla gaining almost 7% market share in just 1 year. 35K annual revenue of Asian paints in FY24 and Birla targetting 10k in next 3 years (almost one third the size of FY24 Asian Paints).
What about the moats of distrubution, dealers and innovation that were case studies for decades in top B schools? I think now the entry and execution of Birla can be another case study.
Asian Paints handling competetion so far in their own strong manner (at least so far) with no
panicking, no price wars (thats what is claimed) but rather by product innovation and superior product & services targets and building larger in the home improvement eco system. So far I trust the management who did not want to do any knee jerk reaction to competetion (probably also because such a playbook was never seen before in the history of paint industry in India) and their true reaction and strong steps and hence the character of reaction is yet to be seen…however the damage to market share in just one year has been severe and beyond anyone’s anticipation and Asian paints itself mentioned soemwhere that the fact Birla grew so rapidly means that entry barriers in this industry are very low.

This makes me think that as any industry matures, does entry barriers and moats always dilute? New moats need to be formed and disruption is the ultimate truth.

With all this backdrop what are your thoughts on the future of Asian Paints in the paint industry?
Will this competetion be a very long term painful process or as demand comes back, both Asian amd Birla would be able to achieve what they target?
Has Asian reacted well to competetion danger so far and what do you feel of their strategy to competetion?
What could be new
moats of this industry and can Asian Paints continue to be leader in growth for long time to come?

Disc: Invested hence biased & critical. Added recently as well. Can be wrong in all my assessments and views only for learning purposes. Not a buy/sell recommendation. Not eligible for any advice.

@Investor_No_1

The writing was on the wall for Asian Paints ever since the two big companies JSW Paints and Birla group announced their foray into paints. Paints itself is a market that does not grow too fast. But there are repeat customers albeit at a slower pace, say every 5 to 10 years. And fresh demand comes from construction projects and renovations.

In the initial phase when a moat is being breached, the usual reaction is denial and rejection. Most of the investors don’t take these threats seriously. But after a few quarters, or sometimes few years, the impact on business in terms of sales, margins etc is felt. That’s when some kind of de rating starts and then it keeps progressing till a sort of equililbrium in terms of PE valuations is reached. Post that it remains at best a market performer.

If you want to study the strength of moats of a business, study Pidilite. I feel it has a stronger moat as compared to Asian paints, maybe because the addressable market is too small for other players to bother. But here too, the moat will remain only till a strong competitor emerges. My personal view is that stocks like Asian paints will find it very difficult to achieve the kind of PE valuations that they used to command earlier.

Moats had a definite place in investing since past few decades, but with an ever changing world the durability of even strong moats has reduced.

43 Likes

which are the sectors in your RADAR

@hitesh2710 Ji, a follow-up question to @Investor_No_1: Recently, Birla’s and Adani’s announced their entry in cable & wire space. Polycab, KEI etc fell and recovered somewhat. Would you Paint Cable & Wire industry with same brush as Asian Paints or do you feel this industry players still have some moat?
I did try to study this industry a lot but still have some confusion.

Dear Hitesh,
Request your view on Shilpa Medicure. I have been holding it since 2017, only to see it churn our mediocre results and consequently price action, for years. Suddenly, it has started creating new highs. I read through the con-call following the March25 results, and my take was: management is predicting a good future in all segments, without divulging much details. But this has been done by the Co. before too. Is this for real this time? Or is it just narrative? Will appreciate your perspective.