On nse site there is category called SLBM. You can check prices there historic as well. Period is generally month or 2 price is higher for 2 months than 1 month it folows F&O expiry date for lending
Shares are credited back in your account.
Generally from what i have observed is yield is around 0.5 -1% max. Opportunity is infrequent.
I have done slbm 2 years back where hdfc bank had everymonth opportunity. For once in a while i dont know if it makes sense personally doesnt even make 0.1 -0.3 % of portfolio yield in a year .
Broker can help facilitate the same dont know for online platforms.
@hitesh2710 Sir, can you please post your thoughts on Usha Martin again. After the recent run up it has gone in sideways trend now but looking at ema it has consistently breached 30 wema. This phase is little confusing and patience testing.
Dear hitesh bhai, How long do you think the Bull run will last? With supposedly negative news of āCoalition government at centerā, āBudget with increase in Capital gains taxā there are no effect on runup of stock prices. Being a value investor at core, looking at average PEs of many industries above 40, just doesnt seem right. Are we in the āEuphoria phaseā? Or the Euphoria phase is yet to come?
This is not Euphoria since many people are expecting the market to crash. Many people are fearful and waiting in the sidelines to deploy more money. Just my 2 cents.
You will always have a fearful crowd in any market. Euphoria manifests itself in high liquidity, incredulous valuations, ultra positive views on TV and youtube from market commentators, a growing disconnect between price and fundamentals, and scant regards to earnings (stocks barely correct even after poor results and when they do they recover within a few weeks). And current market ticks all the boxes.
Seems to be like a bit of a conundrum right now. There are arguments which can be made on both sides. While DIIs are flush with cash (about 1.2 Lakh crores) and can expect 20k-25k crores inflows every month, there is no reason to believe that a major crash is imminent. Also, while FIIs have been net sellers for the most part of recent times, DIIs with their higher cash inflows have been pulling the markets up. If I am not wrong, DIIs and FIIs hold almost the same stake in our domestic equity markets now so the balance is not what it used to be earlier where FIIs had more sway. Secondly, if all the chatter of a soft landing in the US combined with a September rate cut is to be taken at face value, there is further reason to believe in the overall bullish thesis in the global markets. On the flip side though, multiple sectors do seem to be in the overbought territory (defense, railways, water, data center pack, most PSU banks etc.) and a very healthy correction (atleast time correction if not price) cannot be ruled out. If the broader earnings drop, this correction can be aggravated. Having said that, I personally believe that NO ONE knows what will happen, not even the best investors/traders in the world. Everyone reads the market developments and builds their own thesis. So for what its worth, hereās my thesis. Given that some sectors seem to be showing green shoots of recovery like chemicals (agro chem), pharma, textiles, as results improve, we could see a decent rally in these sectors, while some overheated sectors might cool off a bit. Add to this, if FIIs come back to our market in a big way, another rally is very much possible. So in a nut shell, as per me, there might be an interim correction but the overall bullish sentiment in Indian markets might prevail
@Jadewade Agree to your thoughts, And if FIIās are back we can see another rally. Many new fund houses have formed like Jio-Blackrock, Zerodha and ā¦ And I would say if you donāt have any reason to pull out moneyā¦ Stay invested ā¦
Usha martin attempted a breakout above the congestion zone of 360-380 and briefly traded above 400 but again faced selling pressure and has now come down to retest previous consolidation zone. These kind of consolidations can last a few weeks to few months. The stock price can keep flirting with the 30 WEMA, but as long as it does not crack hard its okay.
disc: In my portfolio I exited as I wanted funds to get into newer ideas. ( donāt ask me which. )
I could be wrong in my assumptions about Usha going ahead ( which is it will consolidate more without going down too much), and stock can breakout again and keep going up, but thatās the way things can go sometimesā¦ Everyone needs to do their own diligence and take a call.
I wish I had a crystal ball and can gaze into it and answer precisely how long bull markets will last. We are in the midst of one of those very strong bull markets and usually these tend to last longer than people expect. These kind of markets tend to digest bad news in their stride and after brief corrections, tend to go up.
Having said that, as mentioned earlier also I think we are in the frothy phase of markets. But in the last parabolic phase of markets if one gets into the right kind of stocks and gets out in time, a lot of money can be made.
Personally I have found that being company and stock specific has worked for me very well over the last few years, and hence I try not to speculate too much about where markets are headedā¦
At some point the big bad correction will come, but I would love to face correction when my portfolio NAV is say for example 150 rather than 100ā¦ Idea should be to make the most of bull markets and be ready to give up some gains during bear markets. Try to be approximately right than precisely wrong.
Hello Hitesh sir,
I had a minor query regarding your experience on MarketSmith India (if you have tried it before)? , or you have any references who have experience in using the site for short term trading picks?
Prima facie the site looks to be a good screener tool.
I have spent about 3.5 years in the market and I have taken my time to learn the intricacies. Currently I have been able to make good stock pickings, but there is something I wanted to refine about myself. I wanted to know, how to identify sector rotations? That is something that could clearly refine my stock selection better and also help with portfolio rotation. Do you look at the indices for this? Or what kind of research do you do to find the next up and coming sector?
Thanks for all the knowledge bestowed on us.
P.s. A big fan. and your teaching has guided me to 3 2x holding and 1 3x holding. hoping to learn a lot more from you.
These days sector rotation is a frequent phenomenon. One of the ways to figure out sector getting into fancy is to keep a watch on the 52 weeks high or all time high or multi year high list and see if a lot of stocks from same sector are featuring in that list. A simple glance at top gainers and losers in newspapers or mobile apps often suffices to get clues as to which stocks are consistently showing strength.
The whole idea is to be observant regarding price action and then be analytical about those observations.
Another method for those using charting softwares like trading view is to prepare ratio charts of various indices against Nifty. E.g Create a ratio chart of say real estate index, or PSU index ( or any other index for that matter) and see where relative strength and outperformance is clearly visible.
Fundamentally one can track a few out of favour sectors and see where positive changes and positive tones from management commentary are emerging. Though this often does not provide a clear picture because a lot of subjectivity is involved in management commentary.
@Dhairyasheel I donāt track fusion micro. @Bimal_Purohit I donāt have any experience with marketsmith, or any other subscription based services.
Hi Hitesh ji, this minor correction/probable bounce in the market gives us another potential opportunity to take positions and invest in sectors beginning to gain fresh momentum or bottoming out.
Which sectors are you eyeing? Where do you see setups looking promising?
Thank you sir.
Community awaits and is always excited for your responses.
Hi @hitesh2710 sir,what are you views on IEX it has recently broke the previous resistance and has entered stage 2 and also the volume is on the higher side with FIIs and DIIs increasing their stakes
The whole roadmap of finding out sectors to look out for is laid out in the previous post. That should provide some idea about how to go about things, rather than me spoon feeding regarding sectors and stocks. Whenever I find any good idea at that point of time at an attractive entry price, I share it on 52 weeks high thread.
Currently we are in a broad based bull run and hence there will be a lot of sectors showing strength, or signs of reversal etc.
IEX weekly chart you have put up shows a nice rounding structure. The early bottom phase of the rounding structure is as marked by you by horizontal range in lighter shade. In these kind of structures, the targets to look out for are usually the previous tops or all time highs visible on the structure.
Fundamentally I donāt track IEX too closely, (it is vulnerable to govt regulations and diktats) but overall chart structure looks good.
Hello hitesh sir, my query regarding psp projectsā¦
Company topline continue grow inline projectionā¦ but bottom line disturb for last 4 qtrā¦ promoter ps patel talk recovery in ebidta and patā¦ two major issue for bottom line low margin sdb surat and up projectsā¦ should we trust on promoter for future outlook ā¦?
@hitesh2710 Hitesh Air, one basic questionā¦what to do if any stock in core long term portfolio doesnāt perform for a quarter or an year and FOMO and opportunity loss thoughts creep inā¦what to do in such situationsā¦wait for more time or look for better opportunities as waiting in this market now looks like missing many opportunitiesā¦