Cochin Shipyard - No more Cheap

I did not value it at 5PE. It is the existing market price. If you remove cash held, it will be 2PE. That’s why I was wondering whether to buy.

I already bought coal India thinking like this only and it fell further!! Hence not having a lot of confidence on this type of valuation method and whether there are some unknown problems to the business which market has factored in and I am not aware. Till now looks like there is no such thing that anybody here knows. So might buy soon.

:grinning: Agree and to my mind this must be one of the rare case of undervaluation if we consider track record based on results since IPO. And no visible howlers from Management too. Only “blemish” - PSU. Disclosure - Invested and hence biased.

Yes. It is 9.1% sales growth from 1420 Cr in FY10 to 3392 Cr in FY20 and PAT has increased from 233 Cr in FY10 to 596 Cr in FY20 which is 9.85% but Nifty is 6%. How do you claim it is poor ?

Let us not compare apple to orange. we are discussing about CSL with reasonable growth rate and cash flow. ONGC, BHEL, SAIL,etc., do not fall in this category. It is not that all PSUs are wealth destructors and all MNCs are wealth creators. Even Gillette has grown at this rate only but only a speculative overvaluation has lead to higher returns which will get corrected in the next decade.

Why don’t we consider BPCL which has given steller performance ?

Also it is the valuation at which we buy determines our returns and not just growth rate.

Why is market giving such low valuation to psu at present?
This is the question I will try to answer. Remember it is the market giving low valuation not me. Sentiment can change anytime (market and mine :grinning:).

In psu the majority shareholder and the customer is the same. This will lead to conflict of interest. The government will take the benefit and minority shareholder will suffer. Let me explain by taking the example of BPCL which @sambandham82 wants to discuss.

Global petroleum prices have declined recently. BPCL and other oil marketing companies did not pass the benefit to customers due to reduced demand. Government increased duty on petrol and diesel and did not allow the company to increase retail price. There will be strain on margins and the stock corrected accordingly. It was the minority shareholders who suffered in the deal.

With regards to growth rate, what is high and low is subjective. What you consider high maybe low for me. Screener.in states “The company has delivered a poor growth of 10.50% over past five years”. I based my assumptions on this.

I am not against inveting investing in psu. They have given good returns in the past and can give good returns again. Why they are trading at low multiples at present and is what I was trying to explain.

Major reason is piecemeal disinvestment…frequent supply through cpse etf…etf constituents NTPC,BEL,COAL IND,NBCC etc suffered more compare to say HAL,RITES,GRSE etc…but FM/PMO thinks otherwise…infact FM congratulated officials for successfully raising 10000Cr through latest ETF…Kuchh nahi ho sakta…

I am surprised. No one has paid attention to this crucial fact.

Guys. It is situated in Cochin, Kerala. It is plagued by (1) worst of communist ideology and (2) highly militant leftist labour unions. They rule port and other industries located there. This is a man power intensive industry. In this case, you can’t relocate the plant to some other place like Tatas have done when they faced problem at Singur. What more is required? What discount do you expect for this company?

Communism has been there for the entire duration of this company’s history. Still the company has done ok. What is going to happen in the next 5 yrs which didn’t happen in the last 48 yrs of this company’s operations. Also, they are diversifying into other areas.

Discl:
Invested today. Forms 4% of my portfolio.

In wake up of today announcement on disinvestment of public sector enterprises what will be the decision on cochin shipyard? How stock will react on 18th may?

But isn’t this a “strategic sector”?

Looking at the cash, market cap and div yield it looks very attractive

Market cap : R 2,961.63 Cr

Revenue (TTM) : R 3,390.33 Cr

Earnings (TTM) : R 590.57 Cr

Cash : 2,577.24 Cr

Total Debt : R 123.00 Cr

P/E 5.01

P/B 0.82

Dividend Yield 5.77%

Definitely Cheap. But there are few overhangs here that needs to be considered.

1. Capex in Planned between FY19 - FY22. So expect sub dued profits / dividend in coming years.
    Capex for FY19 - 462 Crores
    Capex for FY20 - 620 Crores
    Capex FY21 - 600 Crores
    We all know how government project budgets can go up. Also 750 crores for another project.

2. Revenue / Net profit can drop because of government budget being allocated to other places because of Covid.

Still a very interesting play at these prices. Bullsh long term.

Company update

If we take long term into account, prospects do look good.

CSL has been generating most of the business from Govt. orders, going in future, orderbook is definitely going to swell and company is expanding considering that.

Just imagine, major big economies and so-called super powers of the world have large Navy

India, as a nation, can’t ignore this aspect of national security.

Moreover, I also expect that there can be Technology Transfers which will aid CSL in long term.

Cons - HAL also falls in same category and it has not performed up to the mark. But, CSL has decent past record and it focusing on repair business for steady cash-flows.

Thanks to this thread, I started looking into the Indian shipbuilding industry a week back. Below is my summary. Hope it helps others in this forum. Caveat: I have no experience/contacts in this industry. Below is a summary of the various ARs/Research Reports. Links to these is given at the end)

Shipbuilding Industry

The shipbuilding industry consists of both new ship construction and ship repairs. Within each segment, companies are involved in both defence and commercial.

Commercial Shipbuilding

Commercial shipbuilding consists of cargo ships, tankers, fishing boats, passenger ships etc. Commercial shipbuilding is a cyclical industry and is currently witnessing a slowdown. Maritime trade witnessed a drop in FY18. As a result, the global commercial fleet has grown by only 3% in FY2019. China, South Korea and Japan have been involved in a fierce competition and own 95% of the order book. Europe has only 1.6% share of the remaining. (source)

Defence Shipbuilding

Defence shipbuilding too has witnessed a slowdown due to cutback in military spending. It is expected to pick up due to replacement of older ships. More importantly, defence is not cyclical and is a counterbalance to the cyclicality of Commercial Shipping.
In India, the Indian Navy has 140 ships and the Indian Coast Guard has 120 vessels. Both are expected to grow to 200 each. The government will placing orders for 165 ships by 2022. The estimated capital budget for up to 2027 amounts to ₹4.5 Lakh Crores - submarines (₹2.2 Lakh crore approx.), destroyers / frigates (₹90,000 crore approx.), aircraft carriers (₹45,000 crore approx.), corvettes, landing platform etc.

Defence projects have always been awarded on a nomination basis to the Defence PSUs (DPSUs) with a fixed margin - MoD has set it at 7.5% (source). However, the Government is now moving to a RFP based competitive bidding process, leading to better margins for DPSUs and opportunities for private players. Additionally, the government has provided for a Right of First Refusal (RoFR), which will provide priority to bidders building the vessels in India.

Ship Repairs Industry

Ship repair and maintenance services market is estimated to reach $40 billion by 2028. Though India’s share in global ship repair is less than 1%, the country’s location is favourable with 7-9% of the global trade passing within 300 NM of the coastline.
The new environmental regulations, such as Ballast Water Treatment Convention (BWTC), the Energy Efficiency Design Index (EEDI), Emission Control Areas (ECAs) and the 2020 Sulphur Cap, are expected to impact the ship repair market as well.
India has a market potential of ₹2,600 crores from repair of domestic fleet out of which only 15% share is currently captured. Further India can grow its ship repair industry to ₹9,000 crores in the next 10 years through infrastructure and process improvement

As per the Maritime Agenda 2010-2020 issued by Ministry of Shipping, the following targets are set for ship repair industry:

• To be self-sufficient in ship repair requirements of the country and to emerge as a dominant ship repair centre.
  • To achieve a share of 10% in global ship repair industry by 2020.

One of the major initiatives under the Sagarmala project was to lease out the ship repair facilities available at the major ports to specialists to generate more revenue and create a positive ship repair industrial climate.

Industry Players

A comparison of the capabilities of the various Indian shipbuilding companies is shown below (source)

Defence Commercial Others
Mazagoan Dock Destroyer
Submarines
Frigate
Corvette
Anchor Handling
Water Tanker
Dredger
Floating Cranes
Pontoons
Cochin Shipyard Fast Patrol Vessels
Corvette (ASW)
Platform Supply Vessels
Anchor Handling
Ship Repairs
Garden Reach Frigate
Corvette (ASW, Missile)
Fast Patrol Vessels
Landing Craft Utility
Landing Ship Tank
Survey Vessels
Portable bridges
Deck machinery
Engine test and overhaul
Goa Shipyard Frigates
Landing Craft Utility
Patrol Vessels
Survey Vessels
Interceptor Boats
Mine Sweepers
Ship Repairs
Hindustan Shipyard Submarines
Patrol Vessels
Tugs Pontoons
Ship Repairs
Submarine Retrofit
L&T and RNEL Landing Platform Dock
Patrol Vessels
Interceptor Boats
Ship Repairs
ABG Interceptor Boats Tug Vessels
Cement Carriers
Diving Support Vessel

A quick comparison of these companies

MDSL CSL GRSE GSL HSL RNEL L&T ABG
Financials 2019 2019 2020 2019 2019 2019
Revenue from Op 4649 2962 1433 905 605 180 Amalgamated into L&T Delisted
PAT 519 481 174 131.52 36.24 -10927
NPM 11.17% 16.12% 12.14% 14.50%
EPS 23.18 35.47 14.27 10.58 120
Dividend 45% 36% 72% 56% 0%
Shareholding Govt 100% Govt 75.21% Govt 74.5% Govt 98.3% Govt 100%
Order book (Cr) NA 15253 26540 15319 2689

Thoughts

In the above list, CSL and GRSE are the only candidates for investment. The rest of the PSU are not yet divested and of the private players, RNEL is deep in debt. Below is a comparison of these two companies across various parameters

CSL GRSE
Business Profile Larger of the two with more revenue and shipyard capacity.
Defence contributes 80% of the revenues and makes the business less cyclical.
The company is working on the prestigious Indigeneous Aircraft Carrier (IAC) and ASW Corvettes for the Navy.
GRSE is older of the two and larger in terms of delivery to Navy. It has delivered close to 105 vessels to the Navy. It is currently working on the large P17A frigate project.
Diversification CSL has good diversification with 28% of the revenue coming for ship repairs (defence 56% and commercial 44%). This segments has been growing at CAGR of 32% over 3 years.
This business is recurring and CSL has invested in ISRF (Internation Ship Repair Facility) to further grow this segment
GRSE has Engineering and Engine Plant divisions, but these provide less than 5% of revenues.
Order Book Order Book is Rs 15253 Cr. A major portion (>85%) of this is contributed by the IAC and ASWC projects.
With IAC-I and IAC-II completed, Rs 6800 Cr is scheduled to be booked in 20~22 (delivery date)
GRSE has a larger order book of Rs 26540 Cr. 66% of this is contributed by the P17A frigate project.
Bulk of the project payments is going to be over the next 3 years. The project is ahead of schedule and due to the COVID disruption, revenues are expected to jump from FY22 onwards
Ratios ROA - 9.07%
ROE - 14.61%
ROCE - 22.44%
ROA - 2.58%
ROE - 10.67%
ROCE - 17.87%
Relative Valuation P/B - 1.06
P/E - 6.5
EV/EBITDA - 1.51
P/B - 1.98
P/E - 15.34
EV/EBITDA - 1.04
  • It’s clear that the cash on the books of CSL is just optics and is due to the payment schedule of the IAC project. It should not be a trigger to invest in the company.
  • There aren’t a lot of shipbuilding companies to compare and the international companies (Daewoo, Hyundai etc.) are not strictly comparable.
  • Between the two, the market is assigning a higher P/E to GRSE. This could be due to the higher order book and upcoming schedule payments over the next 3 years.
  • CSL does have a strategy to grow the ship repair business. It’s a nice diversification from defence shipbuilding, which has lumpy revenues.
  • On the other hand, with defence projects moving from nomination to RFP mechanism, we can expect GRSE to have better margins and efficiencies.
  • Both companies management do not foresee LDs due to COVID.

Both look like good investments. I am inclining towards GRSE. However, not yet decided on the ideal price and the entry point. Please provide your thoughts…

(Disc: I have just started looking into this. No investments and the above are not suggestions)

Ref:

Good results in Q4 and overall FY20.

Dividend payout retained @ 30% as expected and Rs15/share is announced. Anyone know the record date which i am unable to find out.

cochin shipyard receivables have decreased from 392 crores to 288 crores.

this is a pleasant surprise, generally a big problem with psu is delayed payments by the government.

disclaimer : I am invested in cochin shipyard, views may be biased

a negative i see in grse is that all its profits come from other income(is it some classification thing?)
the actual ebit tends to be very low
this year ebit is only 10 crore but other income is 225 crore ( source moneycontrol app)

what am I missing

disclaimer : I am invested in cochin shipyard, my views may be biased

Yes. The operating income and OPM has been bad for the last 3 years.

As you rightly mention, Profits are generated by “Other Income” (which is largely from interest income). This has been the case after 2014.

By comparison, Cochin Shipyard has been consistent

A comparison of overall revenues of CSL and GRSE is as follows

The 2015 Annual Report has information on the dip in revenues/profits between 2016~2020

P17A is the largest project which contributes 66% of the order book. The investor presentation has information on the revenue contribution over the ~6 year project duration

The start dates for the 3 P17A vessels are as follows

Start Date Delivery
Vessel 1 Aug 2017 Aug 2023
Vessel 2 Jan 2019 Aug 2024
Vessel 3 Aug 2020 Aug 2025

So, bulk of revenues over the next 3 years would be contributed by this. The topline and bottomline would (hopefully) revert back to 2012~2014 levels. I am guessing that the street is expecting this and also valuing GRSE at a higher earnings multiple…

Summary of the Q4 & FY20 Earnings call
Investor Presentation

Overview

• Shipbuilding
    • What we have seen is as there is a bit of an inertia following the recent pandemic because we have seen that certain clients have also indicated that they are putting the brakes on immediate CAPEX, but having said that, there are some streaks of positivity also coming from certain quarters. So there are a few private clients on the coastal shipping line front that we are talking to, which seem to be moving forward quite positively even in under the circumstances. What has happened is places like Europe has slowly opened up and they are also now starting to talk, so there are few bids that we have just put in over the last month into Europe and we are pushing on that front also and hoping some breakthrough will come on that front. Getting the ship building momentum back would be a relatively slow process currently
  • Ship repair
    • CSL is probably the key ship repair player in India and we are doing vast majority of the ship repairs that are happening in India
    • ₹2400 or ₹2500 crs is basically the total ship repair happening on Indian flagged vessels. Now, these vessels are vessels which are applying all over the world and many of the commercial vessels probably get repaired in other countries as well. So the thing is, the challenge of course is how do we capture this market back into India
    • So it is because of this potential that we see and the fact that there are no other real competitors in India and in the region that we are moving forward in this direction. So hopefully once the extra infrastructure comes up and once the situation also normalizes, we can actually try to garner more percentage of this total available business
    • Even as we speak over the last one month, we have got lot of orders flowing in. Our new facility in Calcutta has actually over the last 1.5 weeks, we have been able to garner 3 orders. So ship repair, the momentum will sustain because vessels are there, it means it has to be repaired and so we do not see any challenge really in this regard on that front

Revenue details

Annual: ₹3424 crores

• Shipbuilding: ₹2854 crores
    • IAC: ₹2377 crores
      • Cost plus: ₹1483 crores
      • Fixed cost: ₹894 crores
        • Phase - 2: ₹235 crores
        • Phase - 3: ₹658 crores
    • Others: 476 crores
    • Defense will be around 87% and commercial will be 13%
  • Ship repair: ₹570 crores

Q4: ₹816 crores

• Shipbuilding: ₹713 crores
    • IAC: ₹609 crores
      • Cost plus: ₹354 crores
      • Fixed cost: ₹256 crores
    • Others: ₹104 crores
  • Ship repair: ₹104 crores

Current Projects

• Out of the total Ro-Ro vessels of 10 numbers, we have already delivered 8 and remaining 2 are almost in the delivery stage
  • Out of the 16 fishing vessels, we have already delivered 14 and 2 is remaining
  • Construction work on the FBOP and then Kochi Metro vessels are in progress
  • ASW
    • we will be starting fabrication of the ASW vessels later part of this year
    • Import content - Approximately 65% of the total cost is material out of which around 65% is import component.
    • Import content - major or almost close to entire import component was broadly on the Europe front
    • we have already ordered the steel, which is a major procurement for the ASW project and that has been ordered on an Indian party. So there, we do not have any exchange variation risk
  • IAC
    • IAC basin trial which was scheduled for April 20 has been rescheduled to Sep 20 mainly because of the COVID. So correspondingly, there will be some delay in the delivery of the ship also which was scheduled for February 21

Finances

• ₹2000 crores of cash. CAPEX money will be around ₹1100 crores
  • current assets - contract asset is around ₹916 crores and input tax credit is around ₹542 crores
  • The contract liability is ₹1133 crores. Basically it is customer advances.
  • net debt - ₹123 crores - total long term loan outstanding as on date
  • The total debtors as of 31st March is around ₹288 crores. Out of that, around ₹250 crores will be from the government.
  • Now the government’s priority is more to the MSME and other small players. So now, they have taken a strategy that PSUs will be paid only the next level. So this year, we have not received any collection so far. We expect to improve the position beginning from Q2
  • Margins
    • Should measure the performance year-on-year. Because of the specific nature of the industry in which we operate
    • Ship repair segment is around 25% which is in line with our expectations
  • LD
    • Whatever LD which we are envisaging based on the expected delivery date, has been provided in the accounts
    • Because in all our contracts, there is a force majeure clause, COVID will not impact the additional LD

CAPEX

• Currently where we are, we are actually unable to squeeze in anymore. We are actually doing much more than we can actually chew even now. So that is precisely why we are going in for these CAPEX projects, the ISRF which is the International Ship Repair Facility and the new Dry Dock.
  • we have so far spent
    • ISRF: ₹436 Crs
    • Dry Dock: ₹555 crs
  • For the current year, revised CAPEX downwards to around Rs 290 crs
    • ISRF: ₹120 crs
    • Dry Dock: ₹170 crs
  • funding both these CAPEX only through internal accruals.
  • we don’t expect any cost overrun, but there can be time overrun
  • ISRF
    • what we are looking at is, once this goes live, we are hoping the initial couple of years would be taken to ramp it up.
    • total capacity to take around 70 vessels and looking at the current availability of ship repair in India, we don’t see a challenge. If we are able to get our act together, we should actually get those vessels.
    • The first year probably could be say around approximately we would expect around Rs.200 crores and then it grows from there upto around ₹1000 crores. ₹650 crores is what we are looking at say 3 years or 4 years down the line.
  • Dry Dock
    • Predominantly we would like to have some big vessel orders because it is a big Dry Dock that we are building and that is where we are looking on the commercial front for bigger vessels.
    • Right now, we are doing some bulk carriers. So we would want similar vessels.
    • But ship building as you know is currently not at anywhere near its peak worldwide. So what we would there also is we would rope in some additional ship repair orders and conversion orders to keep the dock occupied.
    • once the project is done and commissioned, revenues can start flowing in immediately whereas for ship building, there is a gestation period

Covid Impact

• We opened up on 4th May, in fact the senior officers started coming in the last week of April itself and what we have done is, we have actually taken all the precautions that are mandated.
  • During the COVID , we have paid the entire salary and incurred other fixed overhead expenses
  • And on the workfront we are operating the entire employees in 2 shifts and there is an intentional gap that we laid between the two shifts so that there is no overlap. On a typical day prior to this COVID situation we would have seen around 6000-7000 footfalls in the company. Today, I think the footfalls would be around 3000-3500. We are slowly trying to push it up to 4000.

Order book/Bid pipeline

• Upcoming orders
    • next generation missile vessel, multipurpose vessel and offshore patrol vessels - It will be between ₹13000 and 15000 crores
      • The bid for the NGMV (next generation missile vessels) is already in. we are still waiting for the results of that.
      • new generation offshore patrol vessel, NGOPV, which the Indian Navy has come out with RFP
      • MPV, that is multipurpose vessel for the Navy, again it is under RFP
    • Competition
      • next gen missile vessels: GRSE
      • NGOPV: all the DPSUs as well as L&T are also bidding
    • Turnover from IAC will be there in the topline till FY24. So before that we need to take a big order, like ASW, We are actively bidding for many projects, some will click, we cannot expect that company will not strike any orders for the next 3 years
  • Unsuccessful Bids
    • Floating docks which we had bid to the Navy, we were L3 and L1 was HSL
    • Two pollution control vessels that was for the coastguard. we were L3. L1 was GSL

Subsidiaries/JVs

• CSL has over the last 1-1.5 years opened up ship repair units in Bombay. We have started operating in Calcutta and we are also starting to operate in, we have actually commenced our Andaman & Port Blair operations
  • Tebma Shipyard at Malpe
    • That was a specific buy because CSL has actually been working on a strategy roadmap for 2030 and one specific segment that came out very strongly in the strategy report was the small vessel and the fishing vessel segment as well as the inland water segment. For the inland water segment, we have a new yard at Calcutta for the CSL which is already coming up. But for the fishing vessel segment, we have identified this Malpe facility.
    • And fishing vessels, why we have gone ahead and wanted a separate facility is we have already moved into this segment and we have delivered around 14-15 vessels already, but what we have realized is that building these small, these are really small vessels, the frontline fishing vessels. Of course, we are coming up with higher end versions of it, the designs are complete. But then getting these built alongside the big vessels in the current yard is becoming a challenge. So we wanted a dedicated facility for this and there is market potential. We have got a feasibility report and a market study report already done and we have tested the market and the feedbacks on the initial set of vessels that were delivered have been very encouraging. So we are ready to move, the only hitch here was 2 months of thing which really did not allow us to actually take off, so we are ready with that facility and to get going

Forward Looking Statements

• We were always guiding around 12% growth every year. But, this year FY21 because of the COVID, we lost almost the entire Q1, so we may not be able to show a 12% growth this year. But, we are putting all efforts to be around last year atleast despite various constraints
  • Q1 drop will be there compared to last year Q1, but overall for the year we will ramp up
  • The interest rate in the bank also has come down Now we are getting only 5.5% only l for one year. So PAT will definitely come down and operational margin will also come down a bit, but I cannot guide you exactly what will be the exact level
  • Ship repair will be around 550 level in the current financial year also

Good news for CSL.

Edit:
No order price disclosed.