Atma Nirbhar Bharat - Stock opportunities

Any views on adding GRSE (Garden Reach) at 2300 levels? Volumes are pretty strong. Contemplating of adding it despite sky-high valuations as I would essentially want to bet on hot stocks.

In fact I was trying to add to my existing holdings .
But I am holding back my decision due to the recent run up!

However , i am not qualified to give you a recommendation though I remain invested since last 2-3 years.
But I don’t find any specific reason why the stock is running up so fast … there is no uniqueness with garden reach among other peers l… All 3 stocks are equally placed to take benefit of defence play in shipping.

it may be possible that many funds / FII/ institutions/ HNI chasing or there is something in the market which we are not aware.

Rather , given a choice , i would like to add Mazgaon dock available at much cheaper valuation currently available and it may not be possible to add during OFS or post OFS as the stock may skyrocket merely because of wide valuation gap between it and it’s other two peers.

Discl : I am not a Sebi registered equity analyst. This is my personal view. Not a buy sell recommendation. please do your own assessment before buying. I may be biased since I have investments.

GRSE has a massive order book when compared to its market cap. does that help add any more weightage to the stock?

Market cap.perhaps can always increase and decrease depending upon how the market values which may again depends upon the quarterly performance. And at times market may behave irrationally which later can get corrected in due course.
As far as order book is concerned , Mazgaon dock hss the highest order book

PLI scheme for Railway ancillaries

Under the proposed scheme, the government plans to offer output-linked incentives to companies producing items such as wheels, brakes, transmission systems, and other parts that are typically imported.

which are players, which may possibly benefit from this ?

@LarryWink

The likely beneficiaries listed companies would be Titagarh rail , Jupiter wagon , Ramakrishna forgings,. Escorts Kubota has a railway division specialized in railway brakes, has been supplying railway brakes. However railway division of Escorts was to be sold to a German company called Knorr Bremese. Knorr Bremese is the world leader in modern railway brakes. knorr Bremese has been here in India too since decades. Wabco India is another company specialized in pneumatic brakes.

Till new sources and tech for Lthium and other tech is found, this is nice to have as 2070 target. Just far out, for it to be forgotten in a decade.

I don’t particularly care for the politics of it or even the science for it. But I have a data point that you can check.

Coal India is ramping up production to cross 1 Billion tonnes/year and is already close to hitting it.

EV needs power to charge, power has to generated somewhere, it’s coal that’s the cheapest till SMR(small modular reactors) become commonplace or PHWRs are rolled out in fleet mode.

There will be no net zero but we sure will have growth in Batteries, solar, silicon ingots, plastics, turbines, magnets, copper, wiring, motors industries.

I will invest in the above though

Defence Ministry Announces List Of 346 Strategically Important Items To Be ‘Made In India.This is the 5th Positive list. List attached

https://www.financialexpress.com/business/defence-budget-2024-expectation-defence-ministry-unveils-list-of-346-strategically-important-items-to-be-made-in-india-3555249/

Have you identified companies that look interesting due to this list.

Who gets what in union budget 2024-25 ? All Sectors briefly explained

TOP Sectors of interest:

Allocation for the defence sector is highest at Rs 6.22 Lac Crore.
Rs 1.72 lac crore allocated for fighter aircrafts, ships, submarines, other critical defence capabilities

Rs 11 lakh crore Capex for infrastructure in the country. 3.4% of GDP will be spent.

Road Transport and Highways @ Rs 2.52 lakh crore)

Railways @Rs 2.72 lakh Crore

Additional budgetary support for infrastructure for Bihar & AP

https://www.financialexpress.com/budget/who-got-what/#energy-sector

Edit::July 26, 2024

HAL- A long term investment opportunity - A success story under Atma Nirbhar Bharat

https://in.investing.com/analysis/hal-a-lucrative-long-term-investment-opportunity-200624193

discl: I remain invested. Not a buy or sell recommendation. Please do your own assessment before investing

EMS under Atma Nirbhar Bharat-Cyient DLM bags order from Boeing for its 787 Dreamliner

Could HFCL be considered for Atma Nirbhar scheme ? or these are just news for PR ?

D - No buy/sell recommendation, Not registered, imma New recruit etc.

Yes, HFCL is another example of Atma Nirbhar Bharat , but HFCL had a chequered past.

5 PSU Stocks with order book guidance up to 1.2 lakh crore in Fy 2025

Navy’s Rs 70,000-crore warship project, Army’s 1,700-tank proposal to be approved

The main contenders for the Navy’s Project 17 Bravo to build seven most advanced warships include the Mazagon Dockyards Limited (MDL) and Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers (GRSE)

Defence Acquisition Council gives nod to 10 capital acquisition proposals worth Rs 1.45 Lakh Crore under Atma Nirbhar Bharat.

For Indian Navy, the DAC AoN’s (Defence Acquisition council- Acceptance of Necessity) approval for Seven more advanced stealth frigates under the Project 17 Bravo (B), expected to cost around Rs 70,000 Crore.

Project 17 B is the next generation advanced stealth Frigates to be built by Mazgaon Dock and Garden reach ship builders.

Earlier, Under Project 17 , Three Shivalik Class Frigates were already constructed by Mazgaon Dockyard Shipbuilders Limited followed by the P17 Alpha (A) frigates (Nilgiri Class) with improved stealth features, advanced weapons and sensors and platform management systems.
Currently, under project 17A, Seven frigates are under various stages of construction at Mazagon Dock Limited (MDL) and Garden Reach Shipbuilders and Engineers (GRSE) which will have multidimensional capabilities to destroy enemies from sea, sky, and underwater.

7 nos advanced stealth Frigates under Project 17 Bravo (B) are fresh new orders worth 70000 crore to be split between Mazgaon Dock and Garden reach ship builders. This will add to the current order book of 40000 Crore of Mazgaon Dock and 23000 crore order book of garden reach ship builders

The other fresh orders under Atma Nirbhar Bharat are Future Ready Combat Vehicles (FRCV) for Army as a replacement for the main battle tanks, Air Defence Fire Control Radars (FCR), Dornier-228 aircraft, next generation Fast Patrol & Offshore Patrol Vessels for indian coast guard.

Fresh orders for HAL under Atma Nirbhar Bharat

HAL gets a fresh order of 240 aero engines of Su-30 MKI aircraft for Rs 26000 crore. With this new addition, order book would stand at Rs 1.2 lakh crore.

With various orders under pipeline , HAL seems to have a business opportunity of Rs 4.5 lakh crore over the next decade according to Antique Brokers analysis.