Aegis Logistics Ltd - In a sweet spot

As per this local news article:
”The project envisages dismantling ageing infrastructure and carrying out a comprehensive redevelopment of Berth No. 9 to facilitate handling of liquid bulk cargo such as crude oil, petroleum products (POL), and liquefied petroleum gas (LPG). As part of the modernisation initiative, the berth draft will be enhanced from the existing 10.5 metres to 14 metres, with a future-ready design provision extending up to 19.8 metres. This upgrade will enable the port to accommodate vessels up to 2,00,000 deadweight tonnage (DWT), including very large gas carriers (VLGCs)…………….The construction period is pegged at two years, while the overall concession period will extend to 30 years, including the construction phase.”

So long term infra is being setup for VLGCs, not sure when work will start, but with a 2 year construction period, this should be sometime after FY29. Berth 9 current capacity is 2.2MTPA, which will be upgraded to 10.90 MTPA.

Mangaluru: Centre approves NMPA berth redevelopment to handle larger cargo vessels - Daijiworld.com

The article is concerning, since it might indicate LPG imports might struggle due to the affects of the Iran war. How this impacts LPG sourcing and throughput through the Aegis terminals, will have a huge impact on revenues of Aegis. Hope in the FY26 Q4 conf call (mostly May end), the management can throw light on the impact on volumes.

LPG supply restoration may take 3-4 years as extent of damage remains unclear, say govt official

The picture is very unclear as of April 2026,although the LPG shortage has brought in focus the strategic importance of a company like Aegis. Had it been the 70s the government sensing the sysytemic importance of Aegis assets would have promptly nationalized it !!

The times are different and the government currently has a growth mindset. Hence the following announcement.:

This bodes further well for Aegis as the government focus is on building pipeline infrastructure and not port infrastructure.

Disc: added in the fall around 600/- ( the window of oppurtunity was quite small, I was thinking of adding further around 500/-)

Sorry for asking very basic question. In view of recent LPG disruption across the whole country, does it is reasonable to say that upcoming quarter results will be bad for Aegis logistics? How we are arriving at the margin of safety in 600 rupees share price? I know it is very hard to value or assign quantum of margin of safety at any share price, but in rough senses what is prompting us to buy Aegis when we know that it profits depend on volume of LPG it handled rather than price of LPG.

As I have viewed Aegis over last few years is that it is more of an infrastructure play ( return on fixed asssets) rather than a P/E multiple play. When i first bought in 2023 ,I expected the stock to double in next 3 years which it did as the management was able to successfully ramp up gross Block from 4148 Crs in March 2023 to 5875 Crs in March 2025.( There is CWIP of about 1308 crs as per the last results) Now the margin of safety lies in the time horizon for which I am investing..now I have tapered my expectation and when viewed with a fresh lense I am ok with Aegis doubling in a 5 year time period i.e by 2030 (15 % return).I am making very simplistic assumption of 10,000 crs gross block,2500 crs profits and 50k crs market cap by 2030. Instead of calculating to the last decimal I like to be comfortable with my assumptions. Also, Since I have not sold my earlier holdings the returns for that would also get baked into the final outcome if all goes well. One must always keep in mind that nothing in stock market goes as planned,there can be pitfalls but currently there is low debt,clear ownership, clear management vision and focus. I like these filters and would pay up if these get satisfied. There is a brilliant chart posted by someone on tradingview showing periods of consoldation when work-in-progress is there and stock price bump-up once the project gets completed. The very long term holders have been very suitably rewarded.

Aegis will be beneficiary due to the below news item, since in Nov’25 they announced the signing of a nonbinding memorandum of understanding with Larsen & Toubro to develop an ammonia terminal for their upcoming green ammonia project at Kandla.

Commenting on the development, Subramanian Sarma, Deputy Managing Director & President - L&T, said: “The agreement with ITOCHU is a significant step in translating L&T’s clean energy ambitions into large-scale, bankable projects. By securing long-term demand through a reputed global partner like ITOCHU, we are strengthening the commercial foundation of our green ammonia platform, while contributing meaningfully to global decarbonisation”.

Hiroyuki Tsubai, Executive Vice President, Member of the Board, and President - Machinery Company, ITOCHU Corporation, said: “Establishing a reliable and scalable supply of green ammonia is critical to accelerating its adoption as marine fuel. Our partnership with LTEGL provides a strong and credible supply base, enabling us to expand our bunkering business and support the shipping industry’s transition towards low-carbon operations”.

L&T Energy GreenTech Enters Green Ammonia Partnership with Japan’s ITOCHU

Super Results by Aegis. Consolidated NP is 454Cr vs 317Cr YoY. Link - FY26 Results

But no details of conference call yet.

When everyone was thinking that aegis would suffer a huge setback due to the ongoing middle east war,they have hit it out of the park. New LPG capacity at Mangalore & Pipavav came online, tripling throughput potential. The Management has been unfazed by the global upheaval and have followed the path chalked out by them earlier over last 3-4 years. The underlying growth trajectory is real and multi-year in nature although there was a one-off gain of about 111 crs.on sale of subsidiary to AVTL.

(Confrence call invite…)

Hi all, thank you for your contributions and i could learn a lot from these discussions. I ran though some numbers based on the management guidance and expectations. As per the recent con call, management has projected to complete 10000 Cr gross block by FY27 and also said it will reach 100% utilization in 6 months and estimated ebitda will be 2500cr. So based on this can we say the market cap may reach 50000cr (20 times ebitda) by Sep 2027 ? Current market cap is ~20 times of ebitda.

Also management guided 5 bn usd ( ~50000 cr) gross block by FY 2030 and assuming its utilization can be achieved in 2 years, with 25% ebitda of 12500cr by Fy 2032, and 20 times of ebitda, are we looking at 2.5 lak cr market cap by year 2032 which is 10 times from now? I understand these are all guidance but demand and execution has to play out correctly.

Did i read things correctly? Are my assumptions and calculations right based on the management guidance? Please correct me if I’m wrong.

Disclosure: invested

wow, i love seeing the numbers you mentioned, but a hard asset business like the one being run by Aegis (primarily Aegis Vopak the subsidiary), is a multi year, multi event, oriented business. Structurally the line of business is great, but on ground this is a very challenging business. Getting Jetty unloading arms, Port Berths, multi-year lease land parcels around ports, Constructing Terminals itself (Cryogenics/Liquid / Ammonia Tanks, etc), Laying of first mile connecting pipelines from port terminals to major pipelines, Setting up Railway Gantry, etc are key bottlenecks and have HIGH execution risk. Aegis mgmt has shown capability to handle and mitigate these risks, but do note many time projects get delayed or the actual throughput gets delayed due to delays from Port, Central/State/Local govt, env clearances, etc authorities.

The numbers might be true in the future, but add some buffer in timelines since delays can extend for 1-2 years easily.

On the MCap part, I believe markets reward cash flow +ve business suitable in the long term. Aegis fits that bill as of today, hopefully the same business structure continues, and we shareholders are suitable rewarded with the valuations you mention.

Do note as this business gets bigger, it will attract bigger competition. But I also think Aegis might become sizable to bid/takeover existing inefficient assets. This is one part that is not getting accounted for, but will add a growth lever, and it will happen sooner in a few years.

Hi Ashwin, Thank you for the detailed response and appreciate your in-depth knowledge about the company. Yes, I agree on the execution risk involved in the asset heavy companies and also the demand has to play throughout the journey to achieve the targets. I just wanted a high level view of where the company is heading based on their expansion and gross block targets.

I will add the buffer to the numbers as you mentioned. Thanks again.

I have done some anlaysis of your predictions with the assistance of AI. My findings are shown below.

Claim Verification Caveats
Rs10,000 Cr gross block by FY27 → 2,500 Cr EBITDA Confirmed by CFO in Q3 FY26 call. 25% EBITDA on gross block is in line with infrastructure assets. Assumes 100% utilisation in 6 months; management guided this but execution risk remains.
20x EBITDA → Rs50,000 Cr market cap by Sep 2027 Current EV/EBITDA is ~18x (TTM). 20x is a fair continuation assumption. Multiple could compress 14-16x if broader market de-rates. Net debt addition of Rs2,000-3,000 Cr to fund capex must be deducted.
$5bn capex by FY30 → Rs12,500 Cr EBITDA → 2.5 lakh Cr market cap Management has guided $5bn but noted it carries uncertainty. ~$3.5bn (70%) is our base case. Requires Rs30,000-40,000 Cr of incremental capital; high debt and equity dilution risk; 10-year execution horizon.
10x from current market cap by 2032 Possible only in the bull case. Base case implies 3-4x. Bear case could be flat/negative. Highly dependent on capex execution, utilisation timelines, LPG demand, and macro multiples.

Base, Bull & Bear Case

Base Case

Key Assumptions:
• INR 10,000 Cr gross block achieved by FY27 as guided; ~80% utilisation within 12 months
• EBITDA at 22% of gross block – ~Rs2,200 Cr (slightly below management’s Rs2,500 Cr guidance)
• ~25% EBITDA CAGR through FY27 as guided by management
• $5bn CapEx by FY30 ~70% achieved (~$3.5bn / Rs29,000 Cr gross block)
• EV/EBITDA sustains at ~16-18x given infrastructure scarcity and long-term contracts
• LPG import volumes grow 12-15% CAGR; ammonia terminals add incremental EBITDA

Metric FY27 (Mar 2027) FY30 (Mar 2030) FY32 (Mar 2032)
Gross Block (Cr) ~10,000 ~35,000 ~40,000
EBITDA (Cr) Rs2,200 Rs9,000 Rs11,000
EV/EBITDA Multiple 18x 16x 15x
Net Debt Estimate (Cr) Rs300 Rs5,000 Rs4,000
Implied Market Cap (Cr) Rs39,300 Rs139,000 Rs161,000
Implied Share Price (Rs) Rs1,120 Rs3,960 Rs4,587
CAGR from Current (Rs683) 64% (1yr) 55.1% p.a. 37.3% p.a.

Bull Case

Key Assumptions:
• Management guidance fully achieved: Rs10,000 Cr gross block by FY27
• 100% utilisation within 6 months (as management stated); EBITDA hits Rs2,500 Cr
• $5bn CapEx by FY30 fully achieved; 25% EBITDA on Rs50,000 Cr gross block = Rs12,500 Cr
• Multiple maintained at 20x EV/EBITDA (current market level) given track record
• Ammonia & new product lines add premium to valuation
• Potential Vadhavan Port allocation adds Rs20,000 Cr+ long-term capex optionality

Gross Block (Cr) ~10,000 ~50,000 ~55,000
EBITDA (Cr) Rs2,500 Rs12,500 Rs16,000
EV/EBITDA Multiple 20x 20x 18x
Net Debt Estimate (Cr) Rs200 Rs6,000 Rs5,000
Implied Market Cap (Cr) Rs49,800 Rs244,000 Rs283,000
Implied Share Price (Rs) Rs1,419 Rs6,952 Rs8,063
CAGR from Current (Rs683) 108% (1yr) 78.6% p.a. 50.9% p.a.

Bear Case

Key Assumptions:
• CapEx execution delays – only 60% of guided INR 10,000 Cr gross block achieved by FY27
• Utilisation ramp-up takes 12-18 months beyond management guidance
• EBITDA margin pressure to ~16% due to competition & fuel switching risk
• EV/EBITDA multiple compression to 12-14x as capex cycle peaks
• LPG import growth slows to ~5% CAGR; CNG substitution accelerates
• $5bn CapEx by FY30 only 50% achieved (~$2.5bn)

Gross Block (Cr) ~6,000 ~25,000 ~32,000
EBITDA (Cr) Rs1,600 Rs5,000 Rs7,000
EV/EBITDA Multiple 14x 12x 11x
Net Debt Estimate (Cr) Rs500 Rs3,000 Rs3,500
Implied Market Cap (Cr) Rs21,900 Rs57,000 Rs73,500
Implied Share Price (Rs) Rs624 Rs1,624 Rs2,094
CAGR from Current (Rs683) -9% (1yr) 24.1% p.a. 20.5% p.a.

CAGR Summary

Scenario Price FY27 Price FY30 Price FY32 CAGR FY26->FY32
BEAR CASE Rs624 Rs1,624 Rs2,094 20.5% p.a.
BASE CASE Rs1,120 Rs3,960 Rs4,587 37.3% p.a.
BULL CASE Rs1,419 Rs6,952 Rs8,063 50.9% p.a.

Key insight: Even the base case implies a ~25% CAGR to FY27, consistent with management’s own guidance. The bull case’s Rs2.5 lakh Cr market cap by FY32 implies ~35% CAGR, achievable only if the $5bn capex is fully executed and multiples hold.

Key Risks & Monitoring Measures

Key Risks

• CapEx Execution Risk – INR 10,000 Cr by FY27 is ambitious; JNPT Phase 1, Kandla pipeline (delayed to June 2026), and Pipavav are critical milestones.
• Utilisation Risk – Management claims 6-month ramp to 100%, but new terminals often take 12-24 months for full utilisation.
• LPG Volume Risk – National LPG imports grew only ~8% YTD (vs. expectations of ~15%); CNG substitution may limit long-term growth.
• Leverage Risk – $5bn capex requires substantial debt, potentially raising D/E from <0.3x today to 1.5-2x by FY30.
• Valuation/Multiple Risk – At 18-20x EV/EBITDA, there is meaningful downside if rates rise or if capex peak coincides with market de-rating.
• Regulatory & Environmental Risk – Port developments require complex clearances; ammonia terminals face safety and environmental scrutiny.
• Equity Dilution – Large capex could require equity raises, diluting per-share returns.

Key Metrics to Monitor

• Quarterly EBITDA vs. run-rate to Rs2,500 Cr – track each quarter’s EBITDA annualised against the FY27 target.
• Commission dates for JNPT liquid capacity (Q1 FY27 target), Pipavav ammonia terminal, and Kandla-Gorakhpur pipeline.
• LPG import volumes – national import data and Aegis throughput volumes.
• Net Debt/EBITDA – watch for deterioration above 1.5x as a risk flag.
• Management guidance updates on $5bn capex plan – especially FY28/FY29 capex commitment.
• Promoter holding (currently ~58%) – any dilution or stake sale is a signal.

Thanks VKO for your analysis. Thats a good analysis with the AI. Even if the base case pans out, this will be a good investment at the current levels.

Aegis Confcall was very different this time. Mgmt seemed very confident of continuing the stellar growth of Q4FY26 into FY27.

Few points from conf call:

• FY 2026 marked a breakout year with revenue up 23% year-on-year to INR 8,333 crores, normalized EBITDA up 36% to INR 1,599 crores, and profit after tax up 41% to INR 1,107 crores, surpassing INR 1,000 crore PAT for the first time.
  • Q4 FY 2026 was particularly strong, with revenue up 52%, EBITDA up 54%, and profit after tax up 43% year-on-year.
  • Cash and investments reached nearly INR 6,000 crores, supporting future growth and expansion.
  • Normalized EBITDA rose 36% to INR 1,599 crores; profit after tax increased 41% to INR 1,107 crores.
  • Q4 revenue reached INR 2,594 crores, up 52% year-on-year; Q4 EBITDA grew 54% to INR 670 crores.
  • Cash and investments increased from INR 150 crores in FY 2022 to INR 5,939 crores in FY 2026.
  • CapEx pipeline of approximately $5 billion through 2030, with $1.2 billion expected by March 2027.
  • Guidance for 25% CAGR growth maintained, despite recent outperformance and a growing base.
  • Distribution segment margins increased from INR 4,000 to INR 7,000 per ton, expected to sustain.
  • Ammonia distribution margins projected up to INR 5,000 per ton.