Yaun Devaluation

Happy new year!
I’m new to ValuePickr and to investing and this forum has been a great learning experience.

I’m investigating on how the current Yaun’s devaluation will affect India’s economy and investors. The following are the basic leanings that I’ve:

1. Rupee is expected to depreciate further compared to major traded currencies like USD/Euro thus increasing trade deficit. Not a good sign since India is still a net importer.
  2. Companies with ECBs/ external foreign currency borrowings will face liquidity issues on account of rupee depreciation.
  3. India loosing export orders to China, especially the textile sector which started recovering recently.

I’m looking for inputs to understand the following:

1. How big is this issue, is it long term?
  2. Which all stocks will get affected?
  3. Export segments like Engineering, Pharma, Textile will benefit from rupee depreciation and hence wont it be good opportunity to invest in these stocks?
  4. What are the other opportunities that we can look into, in this scenario?

Request your valuable views. I’ve put this topic in “Special Situations”, request moderators to change the section if incorrect.

One of the benefits of Yaun devaluation will be to companies like Shaily Engineering who uses polypropylene/crude byproducts as raw materials as China is one of the largest manufactures of these. With crude and Yaun coming down Plastic product manufactures will be one of the major beneficiaries.

Adding a link: http://www.business-standard.com/article/international/five-indian-sectors-that-will-be-impacted-by-china-s-yuan-devaluation-115081100809_1.html

China debt is as follows

China debt = $28 trillion

Govt - 55% (As percentage of GDP)
Financial Institutions - 65%
Non-Financial corporate - 125%
Household - 38%

Total - 282% of GDP