Venkat's Portfolio - 2022

Dear Forum Members,

I have been investing in stock market since 2009 onward’s after the subprime crisis. I started earning/saving only after 2008 time. During the crisis I was working for a Wall Street Bank in US when daily I used to hear that some or the other company in US is bankrupt. Luckily, the department I was in was the one used to block all these bankrupt companies, so my job was saved. Bank also got saved as it was part of the Big Four(Too big to fail).

My earlier Multibaggers were Sterlite Technologies (10X), Arvind Mills(10X), IOCL(5X) & GIC Housing Finance(11X).
Failures - NHPC, Bharati Shipyard, Adani Power, Mphasis & Aban offshore.
I sold all my shares in Jan 2018 fearing recession in India as the economy was slowing.

Here is my learning, Government decision plays a big role in stock market investing, so choose business where the government is favorable towards the sectors. Also, government will open the purse when there is a big turmoil in the economy/GDP growth(Current Situation). Government also favors businesses or incentivize the business where there is huge demand. Need to monitor those sectors closely.

Here is my list of Stocks with equal allocations of 10% each which I started adding from October, 2018. I am sitting on 80% cash waiting to be deployed before the general elections.

Nitin Spinners - It is into Cotton Yarn manufacturing. Very good management, CEO is a Chartered Accountant with all India Rank, first generation enterpreneur with long run way. Company has been a turnaround story after initial mistakes with forex, NPAs etc. It has since then made a turn around & made good capacity additions recently. Next capex is planned for Rs. 600 for production of fabric but yet to start. Good Inventory Management & debt Reduction. Expected Return - 3X in 5 years.