Screener.in: The destination for Intelligent Screening & Reporting in India

I have confusion w.r.t EPS values reported on screener.in. Lately I am finding some of them different from the values reported in annual reports.
For example Hawkins cookers EPS for FY15 in screener is 51.57 whereas what company reported in its results to BSE is 60.73 (can be checked in http://corporates.bseindia.com/xml-data/corpfiling/AttachLive/A14B393E_190A_4A76_8163_26F531CC4652_144513.pdf)

Similar mismatch I find for Can fin homes

May be I am missing something or the question has already been asked and clarified in some forum - in which case apologies for asking it again. But could someone explain why this mismatch?

Congratulation to Mittal bros ,for successful seminar on screener by Moneylife :clap:

Yes., excellent seminar.

A very nice initiative by Ayush & Pratyush, along with Moneylife.

Their clarity, sincerity & humility is very obvious.

Wishing the Mittal brothers many successful investing years ahead.

Both the brothers were very good. Very genuine.
Wish them very well.

@ayushmit @pratyushmittal Hi, Thanks a lot for providing such a valuable and efficient tool to make our lives easier. :slight_smile:. I have a question. After downloading excel, I am building a framework to monitor stock performance. I wanted to calculate CAPEX, however, the information captured is at cash flow from Investment level. I am a novice to financial calculations and not sure if CAPEX can be derived from available numbers in P&L,Balance sheet and cash flow. Please guide how to derive CAPEX information

got it from one of the excels posted above based on screener excel. Thanks @vinamrachaware

@ayushmit please check gokaldas exports. The promoter has pledged 100% of his holding. And screener shows 0.

Link to the money life investor videos - Ayush’s and Pratyush’s session has been added for purchase (Rs. 700) along with other investors.

https://savers.moneylife.in/icvideos/

How i can get the below parameters from screener

@ayushmit, @pratyushmittal - Thanks for the wonderful talk.
@gurjota - Thanks for sharing the link.

Some new stuff I learnt:

1. About the ‘Set alert’ feature that can be used with screens. Reuse the existing screens. When using a screen, sort based on various columns to see which company turns up often.
  2. Importance of pros/cons section. Dig deeper into the cons highlighted.
  3. To pay attention to the credit rating reports.
  4. To use the excel feature effectively one should upload a customized excel sheet. I have realized that doing this would boost productivity.
  5. Stop being lazy and turn as many rocks as possible (in Peter Lynch parlance).

One other thing is to report bugs on the Github page.

Hello @pratyushmittal

For the company "Industrial & Prudential Investment Company Ltd"
https://www.screener.in/company/501298/

In the Pros section, Screener computes the “Market value of investments Rs.665.45 Cr. is more than the Market Cap Rs.218.08 Cr.” Is this a snapshot view or computed periodically ? Kindly elaborate how this figure is arrived at ?

AR 16 mentions market value of Consolidated Non Current investments at 687.50 Cr (Page 76/108).

The market value of investments is as per the annual report.

In this case, the figure of 665.45 is as per the annual report of 2015: 664.34 + 1.11

Hope that helps.

Hi @pratyushmittal,

I was looking at a stock called https://www.screener.in/company/501423/- Shaily Engineering Plastics. I was looking at ROIC of 22.33% for the stock. I couldn’t figure out how it was calculated. Its EBIT (TTM/2016) = 21.43+10.13 (PBT+iNTEREST) = 31.56 Cr. So Invested capital must be 31.56 Cr/ 22.33%. So answer is 141.33. As per 2016 results W.C. is 26.40 FC is 97.65 so Invested capital is 124.05 Cr. So what am I missing for the difference 17.28 Cr.

sorry, ahve deleted the post, realized my mistake, i looked at standalone numbers

Is there a way to add Banking ratios like NIM%, CAR, CASA, NPA% etc?

Looks like creating custom ratios is not supported anymore. The link mentioned in the blog (http://www.screener.in/create/ratio/) is broken. Can someone please
help me in creating a custom ratio?

When you run a screen or when viewing company peer comparison, you have the option to “Customize columns”. In the pop-up that follows, at the bottom, you get the option to “Create new ratio”.

There some problem in detailed comparison options. I was trying to compare Nilkamal with Supreme industries and seeing NaN for comparison.

Working Capital row is missing from the Data Sheet.
Also,some data corruption issue is happening(in Data Sheet) for some companies which does not have 10 year data(from FY07 to FY16).
For example, I customized(shared in VP) an excel using some company(TCPL) which has got 10 year data and uploaded that sheet.
But when I exported the data for Alembic Pharma, Data sheet is showing the sales details of FY07 to Mar-10 of TCPL company

Do anybody has used subscribed based service of Guru Focus (http://www.gurufocus.com/). It gives good database and fundamental analysis?
Before i pay subscription fees, I would like to know experience of member(s) who used this service.