Ramana's portfolio

Came out of small holding in PI and AVT. Booked profits in TTK - did not like huge swings in the stock. Booked loss in Indag, may enter again in future

**Stock Cost Price Portfolio Gain after acquisition
Weightage or Jul 12

TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 19.26% 10%
KSCL.BO 1002.00 33.67% 10%
BAJFINANC.BO 1139.00 13.31% 10%
UNICHEMLAB.BO 197.00 -4.44% 17%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 19.48% 11%
POLYMED.NS 288.50 40.72% 26%
MAYURUN.BO 273.00 70.13% 16%
PENINSULA.BO 82.00 -14.57% 1%

I think my patience on Poly Med is paying off. Unichem is also picking up.

Stock Cost Price Gain after Jul12Portfolio
or recent purchase Weightage

**POLYMED.NS 288.50 62.80% 28%
MAYURUN.BO 273.00 76.19% 16%
UNICHEMLAB.BO 197.00 1.85% 16%
KSCL.BO 1002.00 36.12% 9%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 26.00% 10%
BAJFINANC.BO 1139.00 20.90%10%
TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 15.09% 9%
PENINSULA.BO 82.00 - 4.12% 2%

**Ramana Sir **

Kindly request you to go through the portfolio ‘Novice’ in the forum Portfolio Q&A and guide me regarding concentration and the stocks in it. Eager to learn conviction like you

Mallikarjun

Current status:

Overall return shows 35%

**Stock Cost Price Gain after Jul12Portfolio

POLYMED.NS 288.50 77.82% 30%
MAYURUN.BO 273.00 59.34% 14%
UNICHEMLAB.BO 197.00-7.11% 15%
KSCL.BO 1002.00 27.74% 9%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 47.67% 12%
BAJFINANC.BO 1139.00 37.47%11%
TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 4.34% 8%
PENINSULA.BO 82.00 -29.46%1%

Ramana Sir

You have allocated 30 % to Poly medicure. Your views about Poly medicure for the next 3-4 yrs will help me.

I am a late entrant . From 3-4 weeks have been adding Poly medicure. Hope to have highest allocation like you.

mallikarjun

I am too lazy - don’t change my portfolio that frequently. Why fix it if it ain’t broke? Would prefer to hold at least five to ten years unless fundamentals drastically change. Presently, don’t see any reason to change the portfolio.

**Stock Cost Price Gain after Jul12Portfolio

POLYMED.NS 288.50 80.79% 31%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 93.28% 15%
KSCL.BO 1002.00 60.93% 11%
BAJFINANC.BO 1139.00 25.96% 10%
UNICHEMLAB.BO 197.00 -11.68% 14%
MAYURUN.BO 273.00 56.78% 13%
TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 04.35% 8%

Overall 44%

Came out of Peninsula which is < 1 % portfolio with 38% loss. Overall a good return for one year.

Portfolio update - performance from Jul 13 2013

Stock Jul13Portfolio

POLYMED.NS 274.80 24.71% 35%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 35.48% 18%
KSCL.BO 1617.00 08.71% 10%
BAJFINANC.BO 1460.00 01.99% 09%
MAYURUN.BO 232.80 61.48% 19%
TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 -3.37%07%

Overall 25%

Added Atul Auto andLa Opal which is < 1 % of the portfolio. ** Unichem.

Overall return from Jul 13 2013 is 25%.

Portfolio update - performance from Jul 13

**Stock Cost Price Gain after Jul13Portfolio

POLYMED.NS 274.80 32% 34%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 51% 19%
KSCL.BO 1617.00 54% 13%
BAJFINANC.BO 1460.00 3% 08%
MAYURUN.BO 232.80 65% 18%
TATAGLOBA.NS 141.00 -6% 06%

Overall35%

Added Atul Auto andLa Opala which is < 1 % of the portfolio.

Portfolio update - performance from Jul 13

Came out of Tata Global. Added stocks from valuepickr favourite basketas I am expecting economic activity to pickup in near future.

Stock Cost Price Gain after Jul13 Portfolio

POLYMED.NS 274.80 70% 32%
ASTRAL.BO 300.00 137% 22%
KSCL.BO 1617.00 94% 12%
BAJFINANC.BO1460.00 23% 08%
MAYURUN.BO 232.80 178% 22%

(stocks added in the last three months - credit goes to valuepickr)
ALEMBIC 230.00 32% 01%
LAOPALA565.00 47% 01%
SHILPA 318.00 40% 01%
VST TILLERS 797.00 26% 01%
ATUL AUTO295.00 31% 01%
MPS 392.00 -5% 01%
EICHER 4900.00 26% 01%

OverallGain 92%

Portfolio is doing good - shows around 106% return as of yesterday. I guess I am lucky to be at right time at right place.

Added tracking positions in Suzlon (energy), Sesa Sterlite (mining), Wabco (auto), Bharat Forge (forgings) and Deepak Nitrate (thanks to Donald) in the last three weeks. Less then 2% of portfolio in stocks (rest in real estate). So, I think I can afford to take a little more risk.

Market reminds me of euphoria of 1998 and 2003. I feel good turnaround stories will fetch handsome returns if economy improves.

Sold Kaveri, Mayur and Astral as I need money to buy an apartment. Took sell decision on Kaveri with around 5 % per cent profit when promoter wanted to dilute stake. Mayur did not do well - came out with 2 % loss from Jul price. Came out of Astral at around 32 % profit - it is a hard decision, but had to do it. May add these stocks in the portfolio within next two months when the price looks attractive. Please note, I have also added other stocks in small numbers.

Though the current portfolio shows 98% profit, considering the above changes, I think I can say the portfolio did around 75% from July 2014. I need to re-balance my portfolio which is presently skewed towards Polymed and Bajaj Finance.

Here it is the current portfolio.

Stock Cur Price Perm from Jul 14 Weightage

BAJFINANC 4,411.60 101.63% 14.66%
RATNAMANI 566.15 27.22% 0.75%
PIDILITIND 550.00 58.05% 1.46%
MPSLTD 830.50 57.59% 1.65%
SHILPAMED 917.65 94.42% 1.22%
CERA 2,212.40 59.51% 0.88%
MAX 480.20 51.96% 1.27%
SYMPHONY 2,506.25 127.63% 1.33%
BFORGE 1,239.25 67.92% 1.64%
PIIND 680.25 66.73% 2.71%
KITEX 826.90 134.91% 2.74%
WABCOIND 5,599.30 58.35% 0.74%
NBCC 767.45 14.20% 2.04%
POLYMED 492.00 114.85% 57.84%
APLLTD 531.25 57.64% 2.11%
ATULAUTO 448.50 65.50% 1.78%
LAOPALA 397.50 87.50% 2.64%
EICHER 18,353.85 109.04% 2.44%

I need to mention 98 % of my net worth is in real estate. I usually plough back my profits in stock market to real estate either for appreciation or rental return. The last land investment in Gannavaram is a 10 bagger for me six years. AP government is planning to convert current domestic airport in Gannavaram (which is close to new capital) as international airport.

Hi Ramana,

Congratulations on your success in real estate investing! I wanted to ask if you would be willing to write about your experiences in that field. What worked and what didn’t…maybe you identified some patterns (like the thread that we have about stocks) etc. There is probably a general topic section on valuepickr. Just like the portfolio threads, I am not interested in any exact values. Would be a good learning…at least I am very interested in learning about this.

HG

Ramana sir,
happy to note that you have invested in real estate near Gannavaram. I am aslo from Vijayawada and a novice Investor. want to Invest in Real estate. What is your suggestion.
please guide me.
P.B.CHOUDARY
paturib@gmail.com

HG, Thank you. I shall try to share my my thoughts in the next two days.

Paturi, no need to call me sir. I think I just got lucky.
I know where much about Thulluru. I studied in APRST, Tadikona and as a kid, used to run till Thuluuru as part of daily drill. I heard the prices there went up to 1.3 crore per acre outside land pool area and came down to around 1 crore. I don’t think prices will further from these levels in near future. Agriculture land prices around Ongole area came back to ground levels after hitting sky on new capital rumours. I would be buying in Ongole area in six months to one year time frame when sellers are willing to accept the changed situation. Probably, you can also find something like that in surrounding area of Vijayawada. Please note, this is just an input for you to do your own analysis and take decision. I am sure you understand I am not responsible for either your profits or losses.

Thank you Ramana Rao garu for your kind reply.
Can you share your mail address please ? Just want to be in touch with you.
Paturi.

Great! Looking forward to it.

• HG

Added tracking position in Paushak (< 1%). It is basically due to my confidence on the management (as it is owned by Alembic) and entry barriers and lengthy approval process for any new companies to get into Posegen production. As per the link provided, I understand it took around three years for Paushak to get approval for capacity expansion. Will keep a close watch on the stock for the next 6 months.

Thinking of adding NBCC if price comes down. I like the asset light model and assured business from state and central governments. However, I see equity dilution by government at a discounted price as a near term threat for stock price.

I would like to go through KDDL financials for one more quarter before taking any call on the stock.

@HG_6470, I will be vacation for the next 5 days. I will try to post my thoughts on real estate during this period. I am sorry for the delay. CFA exam and preparation for farm land purchase coupled with my office work is taking up a lot of my personal time.

Hi Ramana,

No issues…enjoy your time off. I’m happy to wait…

-HG