Grizzly bear portfolio - keep it simple

Hello Friends,
I will be sharing my investment style and portfolio on this thread. I would appreciate reviews / feedback from esteemed valuepickrs.

About me:
I started trading, speculating, investing 12 years ago without any process in place. I was lucky to sail through that phase without paying much tuition fees. I was introduced to value investing and valuepickr approx 5 years ago and since then I have adopted a more disciplined approach.

Weekness:
I am from non finance background so do not get into complex valuation models.

Strengths:
Good temperament and patience to do nothing for a long time.

What is a Grizzly bear portfolio?
Grizzly bear goes into hibernation (deep sleep) to escape winters and food scarcity. I am following a similar approach - When there is too much enthusiasm in markets and risk/ reward is not in favor, move to debt instruments and be content with 7-9% pre tax returns. Come out of this hibernation mode once there is enough pessimism around and almost everything is available at a good valuation similar to 2009 or 2013 period. Nifty PE will be one of the major indicators for my re-entry decision.

Current Portfolio:
Debt 100%

Watchlist -
HDFC bank
Maruti
Eicher
Asian Paints
GodrejProp
MothersonSumi
CCL
Thyrocare
Shemaroo
Cupid
Mahanagar Gas
Ongc
TCS
Bajajfin
Sun pharma
NGL fine
Banco
Maithan alloys
Centuryply

Framework:
No of stocks - 12-15
Max 10% in a stock
Max 30% in a sector
Max 20% of portfolio in small caps

Sectors that I currently avoid - capital goods, insurance, shipping, defence, infra.

Stocks I avoid

• high debt
  • stocks or sectors with govt interference / price control

Thank you
Hiral

10 Likes

What are your reasons to avoid insurance?
I agree with your point to avoid sectors with gov interferences/price control…but who would have thought that good old FMCG also come into ambit…with latest developments, no sector seem clean