GeorgeJ Portfolio - Long Term

Hi All,

I have been following the portfolio of seasoned investors in this forum and thought of sharing my portfolio for their comments.

I prefer to keep my portfolio stocks below 10 and hold for long term and keep buying the same stocks as when funds are available.

Views/suggestion/feedback invited.

8 Likes

It looks like a splendid performance . How long have you been invested?

If you could describe briefly your rational behind pickup these scripts then other superior boarders could share their thoughts.Which will make sense to all.

Thanks Milind.

I have been investing in Mutual funds for last 12 years and lately I have started investing in direct equity since 2013. I try to buy and hold stocks. I try to follow global and domestic news/developments and research stocks which is likely to benefit.

My mutual fund holdings experience has taught me not to panic during bad times and eventually it pays to hold long term. I hope to do the same with my stock holdings as well.

1 Like

Sure Jiit007,

It makes sense to know the rational to provide feedback.

1 Like

Most of the stocks appear to be overvalued. I haven’t tracked all of them. The following appear to be on the commodity business and are likely to have subdued growth w.r.t the sector and will exit them and move into larger company that is likely to move at the same growth rate (and thus better returns):

1. Citi Union Bank: subjected to all-round competition, having lost the perceived edge.
  2. GIC Housing: Housing may grow after a short lull, but it is really a commoditized space - even otherwise this company lacked the aggressiveness and evaluation expertise of a DHFC or HDFC.
  3. Apollo tubes - at the mercy of buyers and raw material prices.
    All the above stocks have seen better time, though you will see a short term spike in GIC housing - I would use that opportunity to offload.

Thanks for your feedback Umeshchandraa.