Astral Ltd. (Earlier: Astral Poly Technik Ltd.) ~ Leading Pipes & Adhesives company

Hi ayush/ donald

I read in the note somewhere that CPVC extrusion machines are fairly similar to PVC machine. so the key difference in the product is the raw material.

The other PVC mfg have access to the same customers, distribution channels and also enjoy a brand (to whatever extent it matters) name in the segment.

What i am not able to figure in my mind what stops a PVC manufacturer from producing CPVC pipes ? A move from GI pipes to PVC pipes is quite a change in manufacturing, but a transition from PVC to CPVC is not a big one.

So if the market keeps growing, it is likely that new players will get in and that may impact the pricing/ margins in the long run. The growth will come, but question is if the margins will follow suit ?

rohit

Hi Rohit,

The key thing in the CPVC business is the CPVC compound. This was earlier patented by Lubrizol. As per the reports, it seems the patent has expired but still the compound isrestrictedand Lubrizol has the proven technology hence cos like Astral are having an edge.

Yes, its quite likely that with more competition, margins will decrease going forward. Astral has been able to introduce new products and this is where they are able to keep their overall margins intact. For eg: Blazemaster (expected to be launched this year) would be a high potential and high margin business.

Rohit, being in US, you could do some groundwork on this area and give us a feedback. It is said that Lubrizol has a major share in the CPVC market in developed countries and mostly CPVC is used in plumbing and sanitation work.

Rohit,

Its good to focus on the flipsides.

Like you raised, the key question that we are trying to establish is whether there are sufficient entry barriers. how long is the lead time, before others catch up. Astral is taking the lead in getting local Indian approvals like BIS for getting new products like Blazemaster approved (almost 2 years) and doing all the groundwork. However another Lubrizol licensee for this product (there are none at the moment) can walk up to BIS and probably get this done 6 months after Astral. Key to this will be the licensing policy that Lubrizol follows. key will also be if the user industry gives due weightage to NSF manufacturing certification - supposedly the gold standard!

So we are trying to get as much on the ground feedback collected to understand this aspect. Many have volunteered to collect more info. Like Ayush requests, it will be good if you can also help us in the groundwork - e.g. lubrizol vs non-lubrizol CPVC market shares, CPVC vs PVC share in developed markets. and any other help/critique on the analysis.

Many have volunteered to do some legwork…finding more on CPVC and insights into absence/presence of entry barriers etc.

The feedback we want from user industry (builders, contractors, hardware dealers) is not about Astral per se. Here is a question sequence to get more structured insights:

1). Which manufacturers do you source CPVC pipes from? and what percentage does CPVC Pipes & fittings constitute of your total plumbing & fittings sourcing?

2). Do you prefer to source from only Lubrizol-compound CPVC products like Astral. Have you also purchased from Ajay Industrial Corp (Delhi based) and Ashirvad Pipes Pvt Ltd. Who is your preferred supplier and why? Does NSF certified compound or NSF certified manufacturing plant have any weightage in your vendor selection metrics.

3). In the next 2-3 years, do you see manufacturers like Astral retaining the competitive edge (because of their lubrizol compound tie-ups, NSF approvals etc) and therefore the ability to introduce newer innovative products liek Fire Sprinkler systems, or this is likely to become a level playing field with lots of manufacturers able to supply to builders like you.

4). Do you see CPVC pipes & fittings market growing steadily and gaining more acceptance in the coming few years. Is it going to claim a much bigger share of your plumbing & fittings spend (vis a vis say GI & PVC), or is it likely to stay near current levels only?

Appreciate if some of you can talk to user-industry and get some more details on the lines of above. Pls add more questions from your side that may arise.

Hi Doanld and All,

Spoke to two hardware dealers yesterday. Heres the update:

1). Dealer 1 - Ravinder (Took notes while speaking to him on telephone)

a) There are two companies supplying raw material for CPVC. Arkema from France and Noveon from USA

b) Astral is the pioneer in introducing CPVC in India. Its products are also marginally higher than Ajay and Ashirvad

c) The market for CPVC would be very large in the next 5 years

d) He was enthusiastic about the product, saying “hamko kuch karna nahin hota…” the raw material comes ready to use ie ready to be moulded. This statement was in comparision with PVC, where resin needs mixing

e) Not easy for anyone to start cpvc as licence is required and the company giving licence is not ready to give it to anyone

f) During the conversation he did not give an impression thatbuilders/ contractors demand ASTRAL only. All the three ie Ajay, Ashirvad and Astral are doing well. But the scope of oppurtuinty in terms of market size is enormous

g) Making the pipes is not a problem but getting the mould for the fitting appeared to be problematic.

2). Dealer 2, SFMC:

a) This dealer does not deal in CPVC yet. The transition is as follows GI to PPR to CPVC

PPR pipes and fitting came up in 2002-2003. Initially there was just one manufacturer, but now the market is flooded

b) The problem with PPR pipes is the fixing of fitting in/with the pipe. The pipes need to be heated before the fitting is attached. However, if the heating is not proper or not enough heated, the joint tends to leak after some time. This can be a disaster for any new dwelling.

c) The dealer didacknowledge this problem, buthe qucikly added that CPVC is also not technically perfect.

d) A little later he did acknowledge that the demand for CPVC is going to be very large.

e) Entry barrier is the contractual obligation for raw material. These guys themselves want to start cpvc but cannot coz of raw material

f) To overcome the raw material problem they are coming up with a plant in Nepal in the next six months. He said that the contractual obligation is limited to India not Nepal or elsewhere.

g) He was also of the opinion that manufacturers who import the raw material would have a distinct advantage (I guess this would be coz of the consistent qualityof the compound)

h) He said Prince and Supreme (I aksed if Finolex was also in the fray, to which he said no) are other comapnies that shall be coming up with cpvc. Was not sure where they wld get the raw material from

Donald, I did have the structured questinnaire in front of me while talking to these guys. But the conversation on telephone went from one point to another and I just kept jotting.

I intend speaking to one more dealer today or tomorrow. Please let me have your feedback on the above so that I crosscheck with the third dealer

Are imports from nepal subject to import duty???

Bobby

Point 1 b

Please read this as: The products of Astral are priced marginally higher than Ajay and Ashirvad.

Bobby

Hi Bobby

Many thanks for the feedback from dealers. What comes out clearly is that everyone agrees there is enormous potential and possibly the space for multiple players.

A few points need clarifications (esp wrt dealer 1 inputs)

1). Check with him if he is a manufacturer too (perhaps PVC pipes etc). 'Cos the kind of comments “hamko kuchh karna nahi hota” is confusing. (compound vs pvc resin+mix).

2). He mentions cpvc pipes is easy but mould fittings are difficult.

Does the above mean every small scale manufacturing guy has access to cpvc compounds?? and every small scale guy can make cpvc pipes; and those who can invest in expensive moulds can also make cpvc fittings??

Also if possible check with local builders/those who do the plumbing about the questions we posed

Thx

Donald

20 Questions for Astral Poly Technik Management

1). Astral has had a blazing run over the last decade. Sales and profits have grown at over 40% CAGR. APL will probably do over 400 Cr in FY11. Thatâs a super achievement. Congratulations!

What are the future plans? Where does the company see itself in the next few years? We have heard the company talking of maintaining a 30%+ growth rate and a 1000 Cr turnover â Kindly explain what it will take to achieve this and what are the important milestones in this journey?

2). CPVC Resin seems available from multiple sources; CPVC Compound available from Noveon USA & Akrema, France. Noveon patents are set to be expiring/expired.

Please demystify this market for us. What is really patent protected, and for how long? Apart from Noveon and Akrema are there other licensors of CPVC compound? Are people able to make CPVC pipes with CPVC resin and indigenous compound knowhow??

3). GI Pipes & Steel Pipes are still the mainstay of plumbing and fittings market in India. Some studies estimate GI Pipes continue to hold over 50% market share, while the PVC/CPVC market is still something like 5% of the market.

Kindly give us your estimate of the current Indian market for plumbing & fittings. How do you see CPVC/PVC market growing in the next 5 years? Is CPVC likely to replace PVC totally or both will continue to co-exist.

4). Export market Potential. 30% in Kenya JV. Lubrizol licensing policies.

Exports are a very small market for Astral today. Are there any ambitions to scale up this segment? Tell us more about the Kenya JV, Is there any strategic intent, and why Kenya? What is Lubrizol licensing policy for markets other than India? Do you have any leeway for south asian and middle-east markets or are they subject to separate licensing?

5). Other Noveon licensees in India include Ajay Industrial Corp and Ashirvad Pipes Pvt Ltd. Ashirvad Pipes has over 50,000 MT capacity and a 2008 recipient of National Award for Outstanding Entrepreneurship in Medium Enterprises. Ajay Industrial Corp has outstanding group companies like Precision Pipes (largest supplier of automotive extruded parts) and Ajay Poly (largest supplier of extruded refrigeration sealing systems).

These are pedigree companies. How serious is the competition? Is it head-to-head in Flowguard Sales, or do you/they have an edge in some segments within Flowguard range. If you have any competitive advantage over these two, what would those be? Does your/competition distribution network play a significant role? Are there any regional markets that you/competition dominate?

6). CPVC licensing and manufacturing.

Kindly explain the role that Lubrizol & Specialty process LLC plays. What is the kind of relationship that you enjoy with them, and are you deriving any competitive advantage from the strength of these relationships today? Why arenât say established PVC/GI players moving fast in CPVC? What prevents them from approaching Lubrizol with bigger plans than yours? What about manufacturers setting up plants in say Nepal and target Indian markets?

7). Blazemaster Fire Sprinkler system â You have the Lubrizol license since 2008. Despite having the NSF & UL certification, local BIS certification is yet to be received, for which APL has been doing the groundwork for last 2 years.

Kindly explain the importance of Blazemaster to product plans and future growth of the company. Realistically when do you see a pan-India launch? While this will give you an edge over other Noveon licensed CPVC manufacturers, how long do you expect to sustain this first-mover advantage? All your groundwork in getting local approvals actually works to the advantage of the guy moving in next after you! Lubrizol must be aware of the situation - what kind of guarantees do you have from them for protecting you on this front for the Indian market.

8). New products SWR Pipes, Underground DrainagePipes, Foam Core Pipes, Manholes and Inspection Chambers.

Kindly explain the process of new product introductions in the Indian market. Do you require to take specific BIS/ISI approvals for each of these products. What is the status on pan India launch for all these products? Currently what is the revenue contribution from new products?

9). Product Segments, Geographical segments, Replacement markets.

Kindly give us an idea of the revenue contribution & margins from major product segments, also rural and urban markets, and replacement market. Which segments are expected to drive growth in next 2-3 years, where is the companyâs focus and why? How much do the brands Flowguard and Corzan contribute today to revenues and going forward whatâs the scenario? How big is the lead free PVC segment?

10). Customer segments âTop customers & repeat business.

What is the revenue split between residential and commercial projects currently, and how is it expected going forward? Does this business lend itself to deeper relationships with reputed builders/contractors? Who are your top customers in FY11?

11). Competition Strategies.

Sooner or later bigger players with stronger brands (like Finolex, Supreme) will move into the CPVC market. Itâs quite possible that these brands will have much stronger customer acceptance & pull than first-mover Astral. Kindly explain the companyâs current thinking, brand building exercises undertaken and future plans.

12). Capital Expenditure. To grow sales, Astral needs to continually invest in capacity expansion. We have heard capacity expansion plans to 60000 MT for FY12.

What kind of capital expenditure will be required for this latest expansion. Some of the private players like Ashirvad Pipes Pvt Ltd. reportedly have expanded capacities to 70000 MT. How strong is the demand position? Is there a likelihood of overcapacity in the short to medium term?

13). Backward Integration. In Oct 2010, APL bought 85% stake in Advanced Adhesives Pvt. Ltd. The subsidiary company will manufacture Solvent Cement in India.

What are the plans on this front? Is this only for captive use or for generating additional sales as well? What kind of capex will be required going forward?

How much was the expense incurred in Solvent cements RM as a percentage of Sales? Is it mainly used for pipe fittings? What will be the contribution towards margin expansion, if any, on account of this?

14). Margins â sustainability. There has been a slide in margins every quarter for the last 4 quarters. Operating margins (excl other income) has actually slid from over 16% to just over 11% in Q3FY11 â a significant contraction of over 5%! (Raw material/Sales has remained between 64%-66.5% roughly).

Kindly explain the circumstances leading to this. Is this a short-term scenario and have we seen a good reversal in Q4 given that historically this is your best quarter? What levels do you see margins sustaining in the next 2-3 years?

PVC market is a highly crowded space and the OPM levels are not more than 8-10%. Itâs a sort of a commodity business now. With more acceptance of CPVC and competition coming in, would it happen for CPVC market also…if not why? Where do you see margins sustaining over the next 2-3 years?

15). Raw materials â CPVC compound, PVC resin. Risk Management.

With a rising crude prices scenario, raw material pries must be a cause for strain. Kindly explain how the company manages raw material price volatility risks. Does it get any advantage from sourcing majority of RM from Lubrizol? How often does it revise prices? Are you able to pass on price increases? How often have you resorted to price increases in FY11? When crude had crossed $150 in 2008, were you able to raise prices? What is the outlook for FY12?

How much is CPVC compound as a percentage of total RM? Do you see any risks in being tied to a single supplier (Lubrizol) for majority of RM requirements? Where do you source your PVC requirements from â RIL?

16). Foreign currency â Imports & FCNR loans. Risk Management.APL had incurred a loss of Rs.13.44 Cr on exposure to forex derivative contracts. In FY10, the FCNR loan stood at 23.5 Cr and imports at 104 Cr.

What is the current FCNR loan position? Have all forex derivative contracts expired in full? After the FY09 experience, can you confirm that forex risk management practices adopted by the company are more conservative now?

17). Sales Distribution network. Distribution Policy. 250 distributors, 5500 dealers. Typical other expense spends are 12-15% of sales.

How strong is the dealer/distribution network today? How important is the distribution network to sales growth for Astral? How does the company support this distribution network? Typically what kind of budgets do you allocate for Sales & Marketing spends?

18). Dividends. Dividend Policy. Payouts.

The company has started distributing dividends since 2008, Dividend payouts as a percentage of net profits has been rising, but still pretty low at ~8%. Kindly elaborate on the dividend policy followed by the company.

19). Warren Buffets takeover of Lubrizol.

Any likely impact on the relationship? Please comment.

20). Challenges before the Company.

Kindly elaborate on the main challenges faced by the company in view of the huge opportunities that lie ahead. How confident are you of reaching the turnover of Rs 1000 Cr an by when?

Hi Ayush & YSB,

Thanks for all your inputs on the questions for Management. Quite a comprehensive list. This was possible only due to the wholehearted participation from all at the forum. Even now new information is coming in!

Please have a look and ratify -the finalised set of questions for Astral management from my side. Have I missed any important angles to question? let me know

Others like Naga, Rohit, Tcx, Arindam, Abhishek, Bobby -Thanks for your significant contributions that has led to our current understanding of the company. Pls also have a look at length. Maybe you can use this and more for secondary info from dealers/distributors,/builders/contractors. Focusing on the negatives will help immensely.

A special thank you to “Newbie” for asking a question on forex derivative contracts - I am sure many others (like me) would have benefited from the pointed answers. Encourage everyone to ask more questions - there are many knowledgable folks here who are willing to help & guide - but you need to step up & ask.

I am very much convinced with the story. Too many ppl to make note of, but great job compiling this one. Nail on the head you all.

Even after all this, I will proceed to ask a stupid question.

Supreme Industries. Plastic piping systems contribute close to 45% of revenues for this company. Their products (very wide range) includeuPVC Pipes, Injection Moulded fittings and handmade fittings, Polypropylene Random, Co-polymer pipes and fittings, HDPE Pipe Systems, CPVCPipes Systems, LLDPE Tube and Inspection Chambers.

Embedded in the list of products in CPVC pipes. A little research will indicate that they are selling CPVC pipes for plumbing purposes only for now. I am unable to get a break up of revenues product wise within the Plastic piping systems vertical.

My question is, Supreme Industries with a wider distribution network (due to its wider ranger of products beyond Plastic piping), with much better and deeper contacts in the industry - isn’t this a better bet than ASL, given we are arriving at a conclusion that CPVC technology is not exclusive to ASL and Supreme wouldn’t find it too difficult to migrate from its huge capacity of PVC to CPVC?

(Of course, I am conveniently ignoring the effect of the fire sprinkler system that is supposed to provide a huge boost to the bottomline in the coming years to ASL)

Astral Poly Technik Management Q&A published.

Still to be refined a bit on the details…This is the culmination of a great effort put in by Forum members… I am extremely happy…and have no doubt that our individual efforts when energetically synnergised…the end result is so valuable! Please keep up the energy, ask questions of each other and help the community grow - a community that helps everyone take better-informed investing decisions.

Lemmee shut up! and let you all be the judge. Have all your top of mind questions resolved to your satisfaction? Why will this company not enjoy a free run for the next 2-3 years at the least?

We cant rest here. Seek help from everyone on following:

a) help establish contact with a source within Lubrizol India - to corroborate the company’s version; that may be crucial

b) Speak to your local plumber, architect, builder contacts and put all that we have learnt so quickly, in perspective

c) help establish contacts within Supreme and Finolex for agaqin their feedback and corroboration of CPVC, Astral, and their prospects in that order.

Donald

Donald…great writeup…

a few points…

1. Was there no answer to qs 9?

2. in a couple of places the management has mentioned that the competitors have capacity in the “100s of tonnes. The largest may be some 3000 tonnes.” … Isn’t this blatantly false? Also, I did not like the answer to question 5. As a management team, if they are not aware of what their largest customers are doing and the excuse they give is that the companies are unlisted, then I am not sure what to make of it. At the least, it may be incompetence, and at most a desire to suppress competitive position in the market.

Overall, the story for the company does look good, primarily because the sector itself is likely to grow very well and all the entrenched players are likely to do well.

Thanks again for a great piece of work.

Hi Abhishek & others,

The refined Astral Management Q&A updated. You should get the answers to above. Also interesting details on Capex expansions etc, that probably bolsters the case for sustainability. (Thx to Nagabrahma, had to take help of notes from him)

Have a look! You may like to rephrase your bottomline statement, slightly in Astral’s favour?

Donald,

Great analysis. Thanks for all the hard work.I would like to stay invested in this, although good run-up always lures to book some profits.

Manish Vachhani

Yep! stay invested…why not ride with it the next 2-3 years of growth. if they can execute on this base, this is as good a story as one gets - I venture to say, even at these levels:)

work.I

If I have to start accumulating it, what is a good range to start accumulation in a staggered manner.

Narender

Narender,

I would say first develop your own conviction in the stock. Do some on the ground digging asking your local plumber/hardware store etc. And provide that feedback back here on the forum.

Valuation calls essentially go down to how much conviction you have in the stock. management, past track record, the size of the opportunity before them, financial strength to fund their plans, sustainability of competitive advantage, and the like.

I am unable to find much to fault here from collated facts, company’s version and the ground level feedback so far. As we get more corroboration/otherwise from Supreme, Finolex and Lubrizol, my conviction levels may go up or down.

As for me I missed the 120 levels when the stock was first broached (too lazy to look it up: but have bought subsequently, and have bought again at higher levels as conviction has grown. For me this is a multi-year opportunity to hang on to. 20 Rs more or less does not make a difference.unless subsequent facts that we gather tempers down my conviction.

Disc; I hold the stock in small quantities; may exit completely or load up in time. pls do your own due diligence

While discussing about the CPVC market with a couple of friends, I have been told of another product - PPR Pipes. They say that PPR is similar/better than CPVC and this product is the real competition to CPVC. Many reputed builders have started adopting PPR as the life is much longer than CPVC.

Negative of PPR is that it is not a bit easy to install like CPVC. But then it has much longer life and quality.

Lets try to get a feedback about the same.

Hi Ayush

We should ask Bobby about PPR. As I understood from him last, PPR is not new tech. It has been there for many years now.

It has similar properties as CPVC. One big disadvantage over CPVC is it needs installation equipment (pipes are fused together by heating). Only big builders can afford it. Not local plumbers.

On the other hand it might have better properties? Over to Bobby and others who can throw more light by asking around.

I think Reliance is one of the major manufacturer of this and they are finding it difficult to push this product for the reasons as Ayush has mentioned. One of the main reasons is CPVC.

So if Reliance is finding it difficult to push this, then imagine what will happen it with other players?